Thai Coffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Very easy and delicious. Made a shot of espresso, added a few dashes of cardamom and a teaspoon of the sweetened condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tammy Lynn
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I was looking up ways to use up sweetened condensed milk; I had been meaning to try this recipe because I like cardamom. I think I'd like this better served on ice because it is so sweet. I'll make it again but will use less of the milk next time for drinking hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Nice way to round off your homemade Thai meal! This reminds me a bit of the Malaysian style of adding evaporated milk or condensed milk to coffee (my mother's country), although she says you can't replicate the aunthentic coffee shop style she grew up with of course. I follwed this recipe for single serving and used 2 Tablespoons Illy decaf ground espresso in a one cup melitta filter, with 1/8 of the cardamom. So I agree with the reviewer who said make the coffee very strong so it can handle the condensed milk which is great. The cardamom not too overpowering. I drank it hot but I'm sure it would be great on ice too. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In-a-Pickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I feel bad for the reviewer in that all of the low ratings seem to be based on the fact that this is not "authentic." Cardamon is expensive and hard to find. I found on-line a good subtitute is a mix of cinnamon and nutmeg. I used a good brewed coffee and just added a little of both. I added the sweetened condensed milk, but the coffee tasted more spicy than sweet. I would have rated it higher, but I guess I just don't care too much for spice in coffee other than pumpkin spice in the fall. I do agree with others that I think this would be better iced to for some reason. It could just be when I think of really spicy coffee I think of winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
If you have an espresso machine, make one or two shots of espresso and put it in a Pyrex bowl or measuring cup. Add the sweetened, condensed milk to taste (1-4T) and LOTS of ice. Stir until the ice cools the coffee down and pour into a glass. I agree with another reviewer who says that the secret to making this is to have VERY strong coffee or espresso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisahughes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I have never tasted Thai Coffee so I cannot speak for its authenticity, but this recipe is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Thank for posting this! Does anyone have a recipe for Thai iced Tea?? I live in a small town that doesn't have a Thai restaurant but am DYING for this drink!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charitycaroline

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This isn't quite as good as what I've had in Thai restaurants but it's still good! I did make the coffee stronger, as others suggested, but I also like my regular coffee extra strong. I really like the cardamom taste and the sweetened condensed milk makes it very smooth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Well, maybe the recipe name should be changed to "Ameri-Thai Coffee", but in its own right it is a very tasty, homemade gourmet coffee recipe. It is especially nice that it can be made without an espressor machine. Take this from a woman who used to be a Starbuck's barista! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RASHELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I am of Thai decent. This was a good attempt. Unfortunately, most Thai places are "Americanized" but you can buy real Thai Coffee in Asian supermarkets or online. You will taste the difference right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zfamily

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Brew Coffee

See how to make coffee concentrate for a hot or cold beverage.

Coconut Oil Coffee

Coconut oil and butter launch freshly brewed coffee into the flavor stratosphere.

Gunline Coffee

This winter coffee mixture features hot cocoa mix and holiday seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States