Thai Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I think there is an error in this recipe. No experienced cook would use a whole cup of soy sauce for two pounds of chicken. Two to four tablespoons would be the maximum. Think of soy as oriental salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
This recipe is so salty. Had to pour a cup and a half of water and some honey to take out the saltiness. Doesn't taste like Thai food at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Good and very different, but definitely not Thai. My boys loved it and want me to cook it again. BUUUUUT, I reduced the soy sauce to 1/2 cup with light soy sauce and it was still too salty. I also used 2tbls brown sugar to help even out the salt. All in all, an interesting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Made this yesterday, came out delicious, I used Chicken breast cause my husband doesn't like thigh meat. Saving the recipe to make it again for company, will use thigh meat though. Thanks for sharing this mouth watering recipe. Except for chicken breast and reducing soy sauce to 1/4 cup, didn't change anything else. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zyeika
Reviewed: May 15, 2014
This came out great at our house slightly too spicy almost! Great success thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Everyone thought it was too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Love it but with modifications. I use less soy sauce and use reduced sodium kind. I am a throw things together and come up with any shortcuts possible kind of cook. I really just kind of eyeball the ingredients and I throw all the sauce stuff together in a bowl and mix up and then pour over chicken and marinade for however long I can til time to stuck in oven and cook. I taste test sauce and make adjustments tasting each time. I like about half the soy sauce making up rest with water and I like more peanut butter and lots of garlic ginger and medium hot from pepper sauce. My whole family loves this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Definite keeper for our family. I proceeded with caution when making this recipe, tasting as I went along. I took previous reviewers' advice and: 1.) Reduced the soy sauce to 1/3 c and 2.) Only used half the garlic called for. Also, I omitted the hot sauce from the dish because not everyone in my family likes spicy food (but those who did added Sriracha in their individual plates successfully). I don't know if this review will count as one that is reviewing something severely altered from the original recipe, but this recipe was awesome. In the future, I'll probably add 1/2 to 1 tablespoon more of brown sugar, either omitting or halfing the water called for (or adding a tablespoon of cornstarch - it would have been nice for the sauce to be thicker) and adding some cilantro instead of the green onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I hate recipes where I need to read the reviews to know how to make it properly because I don't always have the time to do this. Fortunately, I did this time and cut the soy sauce to 1/3 C which still was a bit on the salty side for us. I omitted the onions since I dislike. It was good, but I wouldn't make this again. I'd rather search for a recipe that wows me. I think it could use a bit more hot pepper sauce too. I really felt like the sauce was more like a zippy version of a beef tips & mushroom dish sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Korean Fried Chicken

See how to make tender, extra-crispy, double-fried Korean chicken.

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States