Thai Chicken with Basil Stir Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
Definitely NOT the authentic Thai basil chicken, because the real one is not soupy like this and much much more spicy. However, I still give it a five star, and just think of it as chicken basil curry. The amount of basil seems a lot, but I still think the dish can use more basil flavor. As soon as my basils grow out, I will make this again, but either use more fresh basil, or add some dry basil too. And if you like your Thai food spicy, make sure to add extra extra red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
I made this tonight and it was excellent. I used regular mushrooms instead of shiitake mushrooms and dried basil instead of fresh as that was what I had on hand. It still tasted great. I also served this over chow mein noodles instead of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
My family loved this, very tasty and worth making again and again. I did used pearl mushrooms instead with extra chili flakes for that spicy taste. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita Chilvers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jarrow, Tyne And Wear, England, U.K.
Living In: Irvine, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
This is very good! I followed the directions except I used lite coconut milk and added extra basil - as other reviewers suggested. I made this and separated in 2 (while cooking) because my mom doesn't like anything spicy and I love it spicy. I also added extra red pepper flakes. We both loved it. This has a very good flavor. YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
SO delicious. i made this on a whim for a friend and we were salivating as it was cooking. if you can find it, use thai basil but regular suits just fine...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by devilsdancefloor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
Yummmm!!! This recipe is amazing, delicious Thai-ness! Great for dinner and just as good reheated for lunch. I used brown jasmine rice (instead of white). Also didn't have green onions, but it didn't matter, turned out fabulous anyway! Last note: Added 3/4 tsp. of dried crushed lemon grass. Would give it 6 stars, but 5 is maximum. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
I loved a dish I had at Thai Dish in Boston, Ma. called drunken chicken. this is it! it is usually hot/spicy so i added chile oil and the recipe also had green beans in it. what a great dish! I am so glad I found it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hebron, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
This was a very good recipe, fast and yummy! I left out the fish sauce but it still tasted fine. Great basil flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
Loved the sauce. My husband likes the restaurant version of minced chicken but the whole family thought the recipe was delicious. The dish was easy to prepare and the sauce was fun to make. I slow roasted the garlic and onion and that added a slightly sweet flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Cole Ashman McEntee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
This is an awesomely easy recipe to prepare that is a real crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mill Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States