Thai Chicken with Basil Stir Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Wonderful! I didn't have fish sauce so used oyster sauce, also added carrots and bell pepper. I didn't think it sounded spicy enough but it was, I used the amount of pepper flakes called for and didn't add any additional after serving. I chose to serve mine over rice noodles. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elenaj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
This recipe requires a bit of prep time but it is well worth the effort. Truly a stand out. When you want a Thai restaurant experience without leaving home this is the one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet7th

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scotia, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Very tasty. I used light coconut milk and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Delicious - love the fresh basil, definitely makes the entire dish! Had to make a few tweaks due to personal preferences and ingredients on hand: no fish sauce so used 1 tsp. of miso paste for saltiness, leaks and red pepper instead of the onion and mushrooms and added 1 tsp. of red Thai curry paste for some extra flavour. Excited for the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I loved this! It tasted so authentic! I didn't have the fresh ginger root, so substituted for ground, and I didn't have the mushrooms or fish sauce either. It was delightful. Next time I will add a veggie mix, and peanuts. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Wonderful, easy recipe, even though I used plain old white mushrooms and less basil because I didn't have enough on hand. My husband & I loved this, but had to find some chicken nuggets in the freezer for my 2 yr old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Kris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
We gave this recipe 5 Stars with a few changes based on our personal taste. We like spicey so we increased the red pepper flake, added Hot Pepper Sesame oil, added a bit more soy sauce and added curry. We left out the fish sauce only because it has preservatives in it and I couldn't bring myself to buy it (I have the health curse of reading labels and staying clear of chemicals!) The flavor of this dish was delicious. We added red bell pepper and extra basil, the presentation was great with the colors! Next time we make this recipe we are going to use prawns and aspargus instead of chicken; we feel those two changes will put this recipe "over the top." Thanks for sharing this tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiger Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Stuck with the recipe pretty much except didn't use the mushrooms, added extra red pepper flakes and at the end I added fresh green beans, green pepper and red pepper slices. Super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
eggplant and bamboo shoots make it better...no soy sauce..add fish sauce instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I loved this dish. Others commented on it not being authentic . . . who cares! Authenticity is not the issue, taste is, and this dish tastes great. Now, that being said, I had to be creative to get this dish to turn out here in Bolivia. In place of fish sauce, I used 1 T anchovy paste and 1 T oyster sauce. I added broccoli, didn't have green onions, used coconut paste (no coconut milk), and tweaked the measurements of the other ingredients to compensate for the sweetness of the coconut paste. My wife was not a fan of the spice (I thought it was perfect) but my 2 year old couldn't get enough! I will definitely make this again. Maybe I'll pull some aside for my wife without spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luke Marie

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 51-60 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States