Thai Chicken Spring Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I have tried a few spring roll recipes and this is my favorite so far. I had to make a few adjustments since grocery store didn't have all ingredients: I subbed baby kale for watercress and I hate canned sprouts, so left them out (excited to make this in the spring when I can get them fresh though). Made my own peanut sauce using a simple recipe on this site. Put in a full cup of cilantro since I love it. Dipped rolls in sambal olek (chilli paste) since peanut sauce really stuck to the chicken. Next time I plan to add lemongrass to make them even better and will mix the chilli paste in with the chicken just to make it easier to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
SO GOOD! These spring rolls were delicious, and easy to make. Instead of just eating them plan I also dipped them in some peanut sauce for some extra flavor.??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I really liked this; we used spinach instead of watercress and I added cucumbers. I would also add avocados, if you like them. My hubby said he would prefer with a wasabi/soy sauce rather than the peanut sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Not much flavor needs lots of seasonings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Awesome stuff...couldn't find watercress so I used spinach instead...easy to do and time consuming...recommend getting a couple packs of wraps...they tear easily :D will make again soon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rsloverii

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
I made a peanut sauce from this site. I had to sub watercress for Arugula, and bean sprouts for vermicill rice noodles, since my local stores have been out of both for weeks now, and would get any watercress for a few more weeks. But my hubby just didn't care for the combination of Peanut butter and chicken, he ate two and I had to give the rest away. Also I found out that he doesn't really care for rice paper either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
This was a HUGE hit at our Mother's Day lunch. We had a little trouble finding the spring roll wrappers- we had bought wonton and egg roll wrappers before we read the comments on here. We tested both (despite what the other reviewers had said) and it was disgusting as promised. In a desperate attempt to find something suitable, we grabbed some lumpia wrappers in the freezer section and were amazed to find it was EXACTLY what we were looking for- it even said spring roll wrappers on the box! I wouldn't suggest dunking the wrapper in water- it falls apart. Instead, just seal it with a dab of water. If you are unfamiliar with peanut sauces, I would recommend House of Tsang Bangkok Padang Peanut Sauce; it has a nice flavor. We refrigerated the chicken overnight and it was wonderful. Though admittedly, we never tried 30 minutes like the recipe suggests- I assume it would work as well. We weren't able to find the vegetables in the right amount, so we used what we could and kept the ratio the same. We also chopped our snap peas. I don't believe the recipe ever specifies whether they are supposed to be chopped or whole. Though, I don't think that would make or break a recipe anyways. We will definitely be adding this recipe to our repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This is a great recipe. I personally don't like watercress in it, but this recipe is so versatile to suit different tastes. I would strongly recommend using chicken thighs, however. They should be cut very fine. I also like to sprinkle some crushed peanuts in each one. Sometimes I put some fresh cucumber in it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
These are really, really good. They took me awhile to "perfect," but after I've made them a few times, they turn out great. I usually use a lot less watercress and more cilantro just because watercress is extremely expensive where I live. The only suggestion I have is to just wet the corners of the spring roll wrappers when rolling them instead of dipping them in water. They would fall apart and get too mushy for my liking when dipped. Roll them up, THEN brush them with a bit of water to soften them up. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chicken Caesar Spring Rolls

Learn how to make the ultimate low-carb chicken wrap.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States