Thai Chicken Satay Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
We were feeding 11 people with this recipe so used 4 pounds of chicken breasts and had enough marinade without doubling it. After making the marinade as stated in the recipe, I thought that it was a bit bland for our liking so I added some ingredients. To the marinade I added 1 tablespoon sesame oil, 1 tablespoon soy sauce, 1 tablespoon light brown sugar, 1 tablespoon hot pepper sauce, 2 cloves chopped garlic and 2 teaspoons lime juice. I stirred it up, put in the chicken breasts (cut into strips), and let the marinating chicken sit in the refrigerator, in a covered bowl, for six hours. In the meantime I soaked the skewers in water so they wouldn't burn on our gas grill. After marinating for 6 hours, I put the meat on the skewers (ending up with 40 skewers), and grilled them in our gas grill, on medium high heat, on a piece of heavy duty foil (lightly sprayed with cooking spray). They came out golden brown as well as tender and juicy. We served these with Thai curry rice, fresh string beans from the farmer's market and "The Best Thai Peanut Sauce" (also on this site - awesome 'as is'). The meal was a big hit...delicious! the reason I only gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is because of the changes made to the recipe. I will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetiesmj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
I made this recently to entertain and the prep was very well suited for it. By marinading then skewering the chickend pieces I was able to tackle other dishes and throw these on the grill right when people were ready to eat. I don't keep fish sauce around muh, so substituted soy sauce - It worked out perfectly fine with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERock

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I'm not a Thai expert but I think this recipe turned out great. I only made a couple of modifications...I used soy sauce in place of the fish sauce as it's not something I keep around. I also didn't have chili oil so I used a pinch of red pepper flakes. I used chicken tenders and didn't skewer them...mine marinated for about 2 days (I trim meat and put it in marinade when I get home from the store and then freeze or refrigerate). I cooked my under the broiler for about 4 minutes per side. Very moist and tender and full of flavor. I didn't use the garnishes but there is cilantro in the peanut sauce I made. "The Best Thai Peanut Sauce"...see my reviews for notes on modifications I used for that recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by twistedsisterl
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
This satisfied our craving for satay. I didnt have all the ingredients so I substituted but kept it as close as possible. I cooked it in a pan with the marinade instead of grilling because I didn't have skewers - It was really good but I think grilling or baking would be better. My children didn't like it, which was fine because my husband and I ate it all. I served with homemade fried noodles and a peanut sauce from this site. Added: I have grilled the chicken on skewers and it is amazingly better, really really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twistedsisterl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scio, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I followed this recipe very closely, but as it's the middle of the winter, I cooked the chicken on the stove in a skillet. I imagine that it's tastier when grilled, but I have to tell you this was absolutely to die for, even with the change. When the chicken was almost done sauteing, I threw in some frozen green beans so they'd pick up some of the sauce. I served it with "Thai Peanut Butter Sauce" over rice. My boyfriend said that he would have paid for a meal like this. Soooo good! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I added to this. I added Champanions(spelling), Corn Cuts & water chestnuts. I did add more curry paste & added garlic. I served this with Thin Noodles. Was Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
Super good and easy to make! It tastes like the chicken satay at Cheeseburger in Paradise. Can't tell the difference. I served with coconut rice, which is super good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIDI402

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
My husband has used this sate several times now. It is YUMMY. We have tweaked it a little, since we like things more spicy than most folks, but over all, this is a great recipe. It works well on chicken AND beef. Beef is my fave. We serve it with his famous peanut sauce. Always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Combest

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
My boyfriend makes this twice a month, at least. It's wonderful! I like it so much that I asked him to make it for my office, where it quickly disappeared. The only difference between how he makes it and how the recipe is written is that he doesn't use the skewer (which helped it keep pretty well in the buffet setting on our slow cooker when I took it to work). Sometimes we add chopped up sweet peppers, too. That adds a nice relief from the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
YUM! I used the Peanut Sauce 1 recipe, but cut it in half for my family of 5 and it was plenty. Also, don't leave out the cilantro. It truly adds a delicious touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIANAYUM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Satay

See how to make authentic Thai-style chicken satay.

Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger

Turn what’s typically spicy meat-on-a-stick into tasty burger patties.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States