Thai Chicken Satay Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Very good! Forgot the peanuts, oops. I used chicken tenderloins and broiled them on the middle rack at 400 for about 20 minutes - perfect. I served mine with the vinaigrette from the Grilled Prawns with Peanut-Lime Vinaigrette and it was excellent. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Good! Made with the Satay Sauce from this site. Made it for guests and didn't have leftovers (bummer).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
This definitely had the right flavors but for some reason it didn't really soak into the chicken. I only marinated it for about 30 minutes. I'll definitely make this again and marinate for longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
This was very good, and a great introduction to homemade thai cooking. My picky son even liked it because it had peanut sauce to dip it in! I omitted the cilantro and peanuts, but that was because I didn't have them on hand in the house. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
The chicken itself was somewhat bland. You really need to have a knock-out Satay sauce recipe to perk up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
We were feeding 11 people with this recipe so used 4 pounds of chicken breasts and had enough marinade without doubling it. After making the marinade as stated in the recipe, I thought that it was a bit bland for our liking so I added some ingredients. To the marinade I added 1 tablespoon sesame oil, 1 tablespoon soy sauce, 1 tablespoon light brown sugar, 1 tablespoon hot pepper sauce, 2 cloves chopped garlic and 2 teaspoons lime juice. I stirred it up, put in the chicken breasts (cut into strips), and let the marinating chicken sit in the refrigerator, in a covered bowl, for six hours. In the meantime I soaked the skewers in water so they wouldn't burn on our gas grill. After marinating for 6 hours, I put the meat on the skewers (ending up with 40 skewers), and grilled them in our gas grill, on medium high heat, on a piece of heavy duty foil (lightly sprayed with cooking spray). They came out golden brown as well as tender and juicy. We served these with Thai curry rice, fresh string beans from the farmer's market and "The Best Thai Peanut Sauce" (also on this site - awesome 'as is'). The meal was a big hit...delicious! the reason I only gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is because of the changes made to the recipe. I will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetiesmj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I think i will double up on the spices next time(if there is a next time). It was ok, nothing special. Definitely needs a longer marinading time than just 2 hrs. Somewhat bland when eatin by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
I added a tad of cayenne cuz my curry was wimpy. This is the perfect Chicken Satay recipe. 10 stars. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I'm not a Thai expert but I think this recipe turned out great. I only made a couple of modifications...I used soy sauce in place of the fish sauce as it's not something I keep around. I also didn't have chili oil so I used a pinch of red pepper flakes. I used chicken tenders and didn't skewer them...mine marinated for about 2 days (I trim meat and put it in marinade when I get home from the store and then freeze or refrigerate). I cooked my under the broiler for about 4 minutes per side. Very moist and tender and full of flavor. I didn't use the garnishes but there is cilantro in the peanut sauce I made. "The Best Thai Peanut Sauce"...see my reviews for notes on modifications I used for that recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
We let this marinate 24 hours and it was full of flavor! Delicious...we will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger

Turn what’s typically spicy meat-on-a-stick into tasty burger patties.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

How to Make Chicken Satay

See how to make authentic Thai-style chicken satay.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States