Thai Chicken Satay Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I've made this twice. Once with low fat coconut milk and one time with regular. Low fat was good. Regular was fantastic. Fresh cilantro a must. I put chopped up leftover chicken satay over homemade minestrone soup and it was a delicious surprise. Who knew it would be so versatile and tasty. This one is staying in my recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy926

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Danville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
So amazingly delicious!! I only made a few alterations. I used 1/4 tsp cumin instead of coriander, because i didn't have any. i didn't use cilantro, because i don't care for the flavour. I marinated for around 2 hours, and sauteed the chicken instead of grilling on skewers. I also used some of the thick coconut cream from the top of the can, along with some sesame oil as a base in my fry pan before i sauteed the chicken. added such a nice flavour! definitely a keeper for thai night at our house!! thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeatherMaven

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I followed this recipe very closely, but as it's the middle of the winter, I cooked the chicken on the stove in a skillet. I imagine that it's tastier when grilled, but I have to tell you this was absolutely to die for, even with the change. When the chicken was almost done sauteing, I threw in some frozen green beans so they'd pick up some of the sauce. I served it with "Thai Peanut Butter Sauce" over rice. My boyfriend said that he would have paid for a meal like this. Soooo good! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Huge hit. I substituted Red Curry powder for the coriander (since that is the primary ingredient in the RCP) and chili sauce instead of chili oil. Otherwise I made the recipe as described. My husband said it was one of his favorites and my kids 8 & 10 yrs gobbled it up wanting more. I served it with rice & a cabbage, carrot, & green onion salad with a sesame & rice wine vinagrette. A simple but delightful meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Great recipe! Used it with Thai-style peanut sauce instead of a store brand and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I didn't have fish sauce so I used soy sauce, I added a little lemon juice, and instead of chopped peanuts, I used a couple tblsp creamy peanut butter. Really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
It was a lot of work to make but tasted pretty good with the peanut sauce - a bit bland without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
little disappointed. It was not the tangy/Sticky Satay like we get in the resturants. I had a hard time getting it to brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melanie
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Marinated for almost 24 hrs. Came out flavorful, and like satay I've had in restaurants. But I kinda wanted it to be even more packed with flavor since it marinated for so long. Very messy putting onto skewers, so be prepared for that. Don't cut too thin or it won't thread onto the skewers. I broiled mine - actually first time ever using the broiler! it came out a bit dry - so I probably overcooked. But it was yummy and there were no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
My husband has used this sate several times now. It is YUMMY. We have tweaked it a little, since we like things more spicy than most folks, but over all, this is a great recipe. It works well on chicken AND beef. Beef is my fave. We serve it with his famous peanut sauce. Always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Combest

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger

Turn what’s typically spicy meat-on-a-stick into tasty burger patties.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

How to Make Chicken Satay

See how to make authentic Thai-style chicken satay.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States