Thai Chicken Curry with Pineapple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I submitted this recipe, so keep in mind the rating is biased...unfortunately the editors took out my notes from the original submission, but I think there are a couple of things that will help prepare this. 1) Curry paste is a mixture of curry powder, ghee, lemongrass and other spices. It can be found commercially at places like Amazon or high end grocery stores like Bristol-Farms in San Francisco. Any color/flavor of curry will do, as per your preference. They even have variety packs you can get. 2) One can substitute lite coconut milk and it is 60% less calories and fat and tastes the same (also available at places like Amazon). 3) Add 1 tablespoon or more curry paste, depending on your spice level desired. 1 T is about low-medium spice. If you over-spice, add more brown sugar (this only works to a limiting degree). 4) Prepare and stir in rice or cellophane noodles for added texture. Also can be served over rice or with naan. 5) Mix up the vegetables. Add cubed potatoes, beans, mushrooms or whatever. Frozen vegetables can easily be added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Ainslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Great recipe! Tastes like restaurant curry. It is important to TRIPLE the curry paste and curry powder. I first made it with the recipe proportions and it was bland. To fix the batch, I repeated the first step of cooking the paste and powder in a saucepan and just added that to the first batch and the taste was perfect! I used the Thai Kitchen red curry paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I LOVE this recipe! I have added straw mushrooms before or substituted chicken for tofu and chickenbroth for vegetable broth. It is still delicious! (when substituting tofu: drain tofu, put between paper towels and put weights on top. I usually use canned goods inside of a pan. After an hour, cut the tofu into triangles and sprinkle yellow thai curry on both sides. Fry in 2tbls of olive oil and add to the dish when it is in the last 5 minutes of cooking.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mujo77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I LOVED LOVED LOVED this - tasted just like when we were in Thailand (or the closest I've come since then, anyway). Thank you for sharing! The only change I made was to substitute chicken breasts for the thighs - and I followed the advice above and added an extra tsp of curry paste. AWESOME. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
This was my first attempt with this type of food, and I followed the recipe. I will use a bit more paste next time because I prefer med/spicy, but this was easy and VERY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yummy 4 Tummy
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Very good curry chicken!! Thanks so much for this recipe. Used chicken breasts because that is what I had on hand. I followed the recipe exactly & it was perfect. Served over brown rice. Next time I may leave the pineapple out just because I think it would be just as good without it. Also made Fresh Spring Rolls with Thai Dipping Sauce & Sukhothai Pad Thai from this website. They were good together although it was alot to prepare at once. TRY THIS RECIPE!!! AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yummy 4 Tummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
My husband is a "don't do anything to the meat, just leave it alone" kind of guy so whenever I get a thumbs up on a creative recipe, it's a keeper! This was great! Didn't have peas, subbed fresh mushrooms and topped with cilentro upon serving. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I'm not sure what kinds of Thai curry some of these 5 star reviewers have had, but based on what my mother's Thai friends have made for me, this doesn't even come close - lol. That said, it's not a bad recipe. Just not the kind of thai curry that I'm used to. It was way too bland for my liking and I don't think I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
This was very good. The only thing I didn't like was the fish sauce, I will definitely leave that out next time or sub soy sauce. We like our curry hot, so I tripled the amount of curry paste, and it still wasn't very hot, so next time I would add even more and perhaps sub the bell pepper for a hotter type. Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by islandmom26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: West Yarmouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Wonderful. This is the closest recipe I have found to my favorite restaurant curry. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Azalina’s Mint Chicken Curry

A Malaysian native shares her secret recipe for spicy chicken curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States