Thai Chicken Curry with Pineapple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I LOVED LOVED LOVED this - tasted just like when we were in Thailand (or the closest I've come since then, anyway). Thank you for sharing! The only change I made was to substitute chicken breasts for the thighs - and I followed the advice above and added an extra tsp of curry paste. AWESOME. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This was excellent! As good as our local Thai place. I added yellow squash and sweet potatoes and used my rice cooker to make jasmine rice. Everyone loved this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Nice mix of spice and sweet...even after I added more...and more green curry paste and powdered curry late in the game. I used bean sprouts, brocolli, shitake mushrooms, green pepper, carrot, green onion and sweet onion and cabbage I had on hand. I added a little of the juice from the canned pineapple mixed with cornstarch as well as having added the cornstarch per directions. I cooked Orzo to use in lieu of rice. Probably could have added the Orzo when simmering as far as that goes. It was too much work de-fatting the thighs...I'll use boneless skinless thighs next time...or tenders...or breasts. Season to taste is the best idea of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Mountlake Terrace, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Delicious! Definitely almost as good as what you would get in a restaurant. I used shredded meat from a rotisserie chicken and added some sliced scallions, but other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. This one is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I've been using this site for 6 years and this is my first review. Because this recipe was so GREAT! This is as good as restaurant quality Chicken Curry. I will use it again and again. I make it w/ lo mein noodles instead of rice. Rice is god but tends to soak up all the delicious sauce. Thank you for perfecting this recipe for me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I've tried making Thai food before with little satisfactory result, but this recipe ended differently luckily. This is a very good basic Thai recipe. I made this without chicken and pineapple and instead substituted a bunch of vegetables (potatoes, baby corn, mushrooms, carrots), some cashews, and some fried tofu and was pleasantly impressed with the results. If there was a 4.5, I'd give it to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This is a great make-at-home Thai recipe for those of us without authentic ingredients around. I didn't even have fish sauce tonight, and sub'd soy sauce. Assembled a different way, too. Browned cubed chicken breast first, then added everything else. The Thai Kitchen green curry paste is great -- a rounded tablespoon gives a nice kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schmane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
LOVE THIS!! This is one of my favorite recipes of all time!! I really dont change much besides adding all the vegetables that are in the house in addition to a lil extra spice. also I make it with whole grain wheat rice for a little healthier option. the pinneaple is the finishing touch with a little sweet taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I did not care for this. It was way to bland. Unless you got a pineapple in your bite it was completely flavorless. I even added some thai basil and that didn't even help the flavor much. I did as someone else said and used a little less fish sauce and maybe that is some of the problem...but I can't imagine adding that back would do to much. Sorry, I will NEVER make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yummy 4 Tummy
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Very good curry chicken!! Thanks so much for this recipe. Used chicken breasts because that is what I had on hand. I followed the recipe exactly & it was perfect. Served over brown rice. Next time I may leave the pineapple out just because I think it would be just as good without it. Also made Fresh Spring Rolls with Thai Dipping Sauce & Sukhothai Pad Thai from this website. They were good together although it was alot to prepare at once. TRY THIS RECIPE!!! AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yummy 4 Tummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Azalina’s Mint Chicken Curry

A Malaysian native shares her secret recipe for spicy chicken curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States