Thai Chicken Curry in Coconut Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
This recipe was fantastic! I am definitely not a great cook...so anything that turns out half decent for me will most likely turn out amazing for anyone else. I did change a few things due to reviews and lack of certain items. I slivered 4 garlic cloves and browned them in the oil before adding the curry paste. I did double the curry paste and used a hot/spicy curry paste (amazing!) because we love things spicy. I replace all of the lemon ingredients with lime, and I think I will continue this. Also some finely shredded carrots make the sauce more visually interesting...just my preference! But, definitely going in my recipe-box!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
OMG! This was really good. I followed the instructions provided as far as cooking, but I added a bit of coriander, garlic and a whole large can of pineapple along with 1/4 cup of the juice with the cooking chicken and 1/4 cup of juice with the other ingredients. I also cooked lo mein noodles and added those in as well towards the very end. I used 2 tsps. of red curry paste and that was plenty spicy (I think the amount of curry paste should really depend on your personal taste) and used dried cilantro and probably more than the recipe but I like cilantro so... (I didn't really measure it, did it to taste.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tabor, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
As I have often seen on this site, people review the recipe with their modifications, not the original (that being said, I'm not sure how to get around that)..the base of this recipe is good, but without salt, garlic and more curry it's a 3 at best, with those modifications it's a 4-5. I also found it too runny, more like soup...so rather make Tom Ka Gai (from this site)..I also use fresh basil as a garnish, as I can't tolerate the taste of fresh cilantro for some reason!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
This is a great recipe! My family loved it. I served this with some pineapple and I also added a tablespoon of peanut butter to the sauce- it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Pretty good. Soy sauce is a good substitution for fish sauce. The one thing that I would definitely change about this recipe is that 1 teaspoon curry paste is not enough! It was very bland and I made it with almost 2 heaped teaspoons! I am Indian so I am used to eating relatively spicy foods...after eating some of this dish, I determined it was too bland and simmered it again with an additional TABLESPOON of curry paste!!! I also added some red chili powder. After this modification, it was nice and spicy and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This recipe was a pretty darn good one in my opinion =) I originally learned how to make this in high school Home Ec. class, ya of all the places Lol, so I only made a few adjustments. My hubby and my 4 year old both love this recipe. I start by browning about 5 cloves of fresh minced garlic (about 2 tbl spoons). Then I add the chicken and let the outsides brown 2-3 mins. Now, instead of curry paste i add about 3 teaspoons of Lee Kum Kee, chili garlic sauce (in a little jar, you can find it in your grocers international aisle). Depending on your taste of spiciness add less or more. This can also be added after the food is done so.. Only one last substition- rather than fish sauce I use soy. Serve over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kclaire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
not quite what i expected, definitely to much acid in this recipe with all of the lemon, i might try eliminating the lemon zest and juice and try just lime juice next time around. I used sliced carrots instead of the red pepper since that is what we prefer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Not bad but missing something extra...maybe fresh ginger? I cooked the thinly sliced chicken in the paste & minced garlic mix until it was done. Removed the meat & added the veggies. Used soy in place of the fish sauce & added basil. The fresh cilantro helped give the dish a fresh zip- don't skip on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mezo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Great recipe! Very flexible. Some advice from an Indian friend is to try and add plain yogurt in place of coconut milk, especially if you like a tangy taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Great recipe...I've made it a few times already with great results HOWEVER does need a few tweeks. Sometimes I make it with fresh shrimp. Definately needs more curry than the recipe calls for...I add at least 2 tbsp. I also like a little more liquid and red peppers...usually two 13 oz. cans and 1 1/2 to 2 large red peppers does the trick. Overall great flavor and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amjxray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States