Thai Chicken Curry in Coconut Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I enjoyed this dish. I made a few modifications. First, I couldn't find Fish sauce at my grocery store so I used 2 Tbsps of soy sauce. I also added 1 Tbsp of creamy peanut butter to give it a slightly sweet and creamier consistancy. I also put 2 tsp of curry paste and I agree with the other reviews that even 2 tsps is really mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I served this for dinner for my family and doubled the recipe. Everyone loved it! I made a few adjustments(this is for the recipe doubled): 2 tsp salt, 1.5 Tbs ginger chopped, 3 cloves garlic minced, 1 can sliced water chestnuts, and a can of baby corn sliced in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Loved this but with some changes. Added lots more curry paste, carrots and soy. Served over Thai rice noodles. It was good and it was HOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This was a very delicious Thai chicken curry and so simple. I didn't have lemon so I substitute lime zest and lime juice. I also increased the curry paste to 2 teaspoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Delicious! This tasted pretty close to the dish we get at our local Thai restaurant. I did use lime juice instead of lemon and fresh basil instead of cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I made this for dinner the other night and it turned out excellent! I added different veggies (roasted cauliflower, green beans, and mushrooms) and omitted the fish sauce. To make more sauce I also added a little chicken stock. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This was pretty good. I agree with some of the other reviewers that it tastes like something is missing even though I seasoned the chicken with salt and pepper prior to adding it to the skillet and used 1 tbsp of curry paste instead of just 1 tsp. As well, I added the coconut milk at the end of sauteing all the other ingredients to really season the chicken. I served this over basmati rice and had to jazz it up with hot mango chutney. It was a good base but I think next time I'll have to increase the spice factor, maybe add more lemon juice and zest, and increase the curry paste used. I'll also try using regular coconut milk next time as I think it'll taste creamier. This is not bad but does need some tweaking to boost the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I used Curry paste, added cooked Costco rotisserie chicken later, a bit of chicken stock and substituted Sour Cream for Coconut Milk. Let it simmer and the flavors really start melding. Microwave some Trader Joe's Brown Rice and toast some TJs Nan bread and you got a meal Patek's Curry Paste is the best! Watch it because even mild packs some heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
This turned out really well. I will be making this again, though next time I will add more bell peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
This is the first Thai dish that I have made. My family said the recipe was a keeper! It was very easy to make. It tasted like many Thai entrees and soups that I have had in Asian restaurants. I did change a few things to suit my taste and available ingredients: I used diced yellow peppers i had on hand, I increased the red curry paste by 50% and I used a little soy sauce in place of the fish sauce, which i didn't have. Next time I will add either some crushed red pepper or some cayenne pepper for some added heat. I think I will also use more curry paste and add a little salt. Thanks for such a tasty and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Russell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harriman, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lake City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States