Thai Chicken Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
This was very easy to make, a nice healthy choice, and the Thai Chili sauce added just the right zest. I also used rice noodles. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
My husband loved it. If it is well shredded into very small shreds, the cabbage almost disappears so vegetable-haters will not even know it it there, and it sweetens the broth. I used Thai chile paste and green and sweet onions because I did not have chile sauce or leeks. It was very mild and tasty. Not at all spicy-hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I used homemade chicken broth. It needed more flavor using this broth. Plus I think there was not enough broth and too much noodles. It was not soupy enough. The taste was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
Made this tonight for the first time and ate two bowls (no guilt either)! Didn't have leeks so just used a chopped onion. Also added a little garlic & 1/2 bay leaf. For something so simple, it's really good. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Made this to-night and my husband who says he doesn't care for regular chicken soup gave this five stars.Used chicken thighs, savoy cabbage, zuchinni and sweet Thai chili sauce. It really was the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
This didn't seem really Thai-ish to me except for the chile sauce at the end. So I added a small stalk of lemon grass that I whacked with my rubber mallet to crush it a bit, and a few kaffir lime leaves to the broth while it simmered. I also added a teaspoon full of something called "Hot Spice Powder" which I picked up at our local international market. The ingredient list is: white pepper, salt, spice; so I'm not really sure what all is in it, but it tasted good in the soup. I used about a cup of teeny, tiny, skinny Fideo noodles. The result was delicious. DH put too much chile sauce in his serving, and complained about the heat, but that was his own silly fault. We both really liked this. Will definitely make it again. Oh, and I removed the lemon grass and lime leaves before serving. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
I have to go back to making sure I read all the reviews before I start cooking - again I was in a rush and followed the recipe exactly. Big MISTAKE. It calls for too much noodles as others did say. I cooked it to have for the following day so it looked alright when I put it in the refrigerator. The next day when I took it out to serve there was NO broth in the pot - the noodles absorbed ALL of it. Had to add 32 more oz. of broth to the pot. The following day I took out the leftovers and again there was NO more broth. There was no way I was going to waste money and add MORE broth so I just put it in bowls, heated it up and passed around some soy sauce for the top. I think we enjoyed it that way better than with the broth. I also agree with others that it is on the bland side - I tripled the amount of chile sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
Absolutely delicious ! It was more like Vietnamese Pho (noodle soup) then Thai food. I skipped the noodles completely, though. I didn't want the carbs or the calories. As a huge fan of Pho, I didn't miss the noodles at all ! The cabbage substituted nicely. As the stock boiled down, I did add about 1 1/2 cups of water. This did not diminished the flavor at all. I shredded the chicken instead of dicing it. I also added diced jalapeno, an extra tablespoon of Thai chili sauce & topped with mung bean sprouts (like served with Pho). I topped off with Sricacha sauce (I aptly call "rooster sauce" due to the rooster on the bottle.) I don't think I will ever want the sodium or carbs/calories of vietnamese noodle soup ever again. Next time, I will also added shredded fresh basil to garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hmstarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cherry Point, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
This is my favorite chicken soup! I make it all the time and everyone always loves it! If I don't have the Thai chili sauce I opt for Tabasco sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
I was so excitee about this recipe and so terribly disappointed. I followed the recipe exactly. It was completely bland. I couldn't add enough of the Thai sauce--but there was still no flavor, only heat. Family felt the same way. Who can figure?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Shalimar, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States