Thai Chicken Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I hope that I did something wrong...this was not very good. I will not be making this again. I could not even taste the "thai" flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This is such a great recipe. It is so yummy. It is filling. The soup by itself is really good with out the tai chilli sauce but it is MUCH better with the tai chilli sauce. The only thing I changed is that I cooked the noodles separate and then I put them in the pot of soup, this way the noodles don't absorb all the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This soup was incredible! I did do some modifications though~ I used chicken thighs instead of breasts, I dropped in two egg whites, added a handful of peas, and I used rice-noodles instead of egg noodles. I will be making this soup at least once a month. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Pasta is not necessary. Nice with slivered almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
so i hate to review this because i changed it a bit(i am giving this 4 stars because as written it wouldn't be considered thai and very bland)...but mine ended up really good. this is what i did- started with boiling chicken and water-added 1 .5 stalks 3 tablespoons lemon grass chopped fine, 1 tsp. fresh ginger,thai chili paste 3 tablespoons and 2 beef bouillon - (in another pan i sauteed 1 onion and 2 garlic cloves and added that to the soup mixture) then took out chicken shredded added it back with 3 cups cabbage, chopped tomato, carrot cut julienne, 3 tablespoons of cilantro. then let this simmer for 3 hours. about 30 mins. before serving i added 1 more cup shredded cabbage. and fresh cilantro. this was good and i added quite a bit of the thai chili paste because we like it spicy. this would be really good with shrimp in place of chicken as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Really loved this soup! Made as described except I left out the noodles altogether (may add them later). The soup seemed pretty bland and I was surprised that no spices were called for but once the chile sauce was in (I used a green thai chile paste that was in the fridge) all the flavors came together and the result was wonderful! I used savoy cabbage - my favorite at the moment. The real test will be when I try it out on the kids, but I loved it and will make more just for me if they won't eat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNIEMILANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kensington, Maryland, USA
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This is great soup! I thought I had Thai Chili Sauce when I started making this, but actually had Thai Red Curry Paste, so went ahead and put that in - 2 rounded teaspoons, with a little chili powder and some ground pepper and extra salt, and it was delicious. Thanks for a wonderful basic recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
It's really good with green onions and 2 TB fish sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Wonderful soup thats even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
The recipe is a great base to work with, on it's own I'm not sure if it's quite "ready" to be called Thai. With the broth I added Sake, or cooking rice wine/ sherry would work too, and waited for it to boil. Also a splash of fish sauce adds that special asian flare to the soup. I used bean noodles, the see through kind, and it turned out great with the spice added at the end. It really hits the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Destineebb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corona Del Mar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States