Thai Chicken Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I made this for a Wednesday meal at church and it received rave reviews. I did make some changes. I added fish sauce, ginger, lemon grass and sesame oil as suggested by other reviewers. I bought a cold roasted chicken(lemon herb flavor) from grocery store, pulled off meat and made the stock with the bones. Since it was going to be kept warm over a long period of time I didn't use the noodles. They would have soaked up all the broth. Everyone said it tasted like soup from the Chinese restaurant. I will definitely make this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stjchurchcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This was good but seemed like too much chicken. I added a little fish sauce like other's suggested! I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrisMac
Home Town: Fairfax Station, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I really liked it and so did my husband. It not only tastes good but it's good for you. I used Iron Chef Thai Sweet Chile Sauce in it. I wasn't sure if we would like it but it was even more delicious. Trader Joe's carries sliced frozen leeks that simplified it. Nancy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Bleck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Needs a lot more flavor (as many others had mentioned). I used fish sauce, sesame oil, garlic, red chili paste & seasoned rice vinegar. Ramen noodles added at the end do not absorb the oil like many other had indicated occurred with the egg noodles. Topped with sliced snap peas & some cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Nice! Hmm! Chili sauce in a 'typical' chicken noodle soup. The chili sauce was a surprisingly nice touch as is. ��CROCKPOT FRIENDLY! This is a very versatile soup base, as discovered when comparing it to similar soups.�� Freeze some 'base' & serve 'typically' (dumplings, potatoes, rolled pasta). OR use a touch less broth or up the carrots and *maybe* cut the cabbage back or ?maybe? skip it altogether, & fully skip the meat & pasta, & puree! A great pureed, carrot soup, hot or cold! Make a double/triple batch, puree one part. Use on part for chunky soup: when time to serve, add a bit more broth IF needed, chicken, pasta (or rice, or maybe even rice noodles, or buckwheat soba, change it sometimes), & if you are like me, some spinach, cilantro, &/or sliced green onion for color, vitamins & flavor (peas, snow peas or anything green would work nicely). Other seasonings that go well with this as an oriental soup include: 2'sh Tbsp. of lime juice, soy sauce, &/or smooth peanut butter (natural works fine, especially for the pureed portion). Also, in smaller doses, a touch of sugar &/or sesame oil. For any pureed portion of the soup, some soy milk or dairy of choice will add a nice creamy touch. Deciding to add more of one seasoning to one half of the soup, & more of another seasoning to the other half of the soup, while adding pasta & meat to the one and adding dairy to the other helps us make one pot of soup into two rather distinct creations. Now, that's my idea of great cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Pick a thai sauce you like and a good quality chicken broth. I used less noodles than called for and we found that we had to add more Thai sauce to make it spicy. If we have it again, I'd use a garlic chili sauce. Not our favorite recipe, but decent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Family LOVED this! Def a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
This is a great soup that allows you to add any of your favorite spices. I've made it many times and usually add Fish Sauce, garlic, ginger, 5 spice, jalapeno, green onions and juice of 1 lime. Since I try to avoid gluten, I either don't add the egg noodles or use kelp or shirataki noodles instead. Bean sprouts, cilantro, and basil make great garnishes for this soup too. So healthy and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This just tastes like regular chicken soup to me, and I tripled the thai sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brooklynsurecooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topsfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This is so simple and so good. I've made it four times in the past couple of months. I sometimes use thinly sliced yellow onions instead of leeks, and I prefer Chinese cabbage to regular cabbage since it seems a bit milder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States