Thai Chicken Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
Juat wonderful. I had this for lunch today and it really hit the spot. I made this last night since soups alawys taste better the second day. :) I used buckwheat soba noodles instead of egg and used 4 ounces instead. It was plenty. I also used napa cabbage instead of regular cabbage and tossed in baby carrots instead of slicing the large ones. It did absorb most of the broth overnight, so I just added a little extra stock to the bowl I reheated. The chile sauce really is great in this. I'll make this again this winter I am sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by JONMICHEL
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
This is a simple, easy-to-make, and tasty soup. I make it sans noodles most of the time. With a squirt of Srirachian Sauce, this soup is something you will want to put on your twice a month menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
This is a great soup (although it's more like a stew, especially by the second day), and it's not often that I say that about a soup. I'm not even a fan of cabbage and I love it. So far I've only used regular cabbage, but may try napa cabbage sometime. I don't put the Sriracha chili sauce in when making it, but rather let everyone add it to their bowls later, to their taste. I also use the 33% less sodium chicken broth, and it is plenty salty. DH requests this soup often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2000
This was AWESOME! A great easy soup to make on a cold night. Would be great to take to a sick friend. There are healing properties in cabbage!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
Very good. Added a little carrot for color/taste. The chili sauce makes it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
This was pretty good...my first time trying anything with leeks! I think it tastes best with half regular green cabbage and half Chinese napa cabbage. I used at least 2 tablespoons of chile sauce, which I added just after the noodles. I may cut back on the amount of noodles next time because after a day or two they absorbed all the juice. I'll continue making this recipe from time to time. **UPDATE** It's been a couple of years since I made this soup and now I've tried it again and made additional discoveries. First, if you're using spicy garlic sauce, two teaspoons will suffice and add 1 tablespoon of brown sugar. If you're using sweet garlic sauce, use 1 tablespoon and add a dash or two cayenne pepper. Secondly, to avoid loosing all the broth to the noodles, cook the noodles separately, then add them to the soup after the cabbage is just about tender, plus an additional cup of broth and 1 cup of water. Trust me; you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
This has become one of my favorite soups. If I don't have egg noodles, I substitute broken spaghetti. Definitely shred the cabbage rather than chopping it, and I use 1/2 head instead of the whole one. There is something intoxicating about the flavor of this soup that makes me crave it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA LASHLEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Redgranite, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
This was FANTASTIC!! My husband loved it and so did I! He likes things spicy so I added some jalapenos in the veggies and some extra sriracha. Would definitely make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUL567

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
This dish knows the time of day! The only change I made was to put a little heat to it. If I like it, you're gonna love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolina Country

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Verbena, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
This soup was delicious! Our family eats a lot of Asian-inspired foods and loved this soup. It is healthy, but don't let that fool you...it's actually good tasting, as well! Add salt and pepper to taste, btw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States