Thai Chicken Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I was so disappointed in this soup! I looked forward to it all day based on the rave reviews, and it turned out just terrible! I wish I understood where the raves are coming from... whether I did something wrong or not. I halved the recipe, and admittedly overcooked the noodles (I think the suggestion of cooking the noodles separately was a good one- wish I'd done it). But it seems like just a bland chicken noodle soup with cabbage in it, and the addition of the chili sauce just didn't "go". I love cabbage, I love chili sauce, and I LOVE THAI SOUPS!! This just didn't deliver. Bland bland bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
This was great. If you dont want a stew like consistency- then add more broth- but I liked it thicker. One leek was perfect for the taste- and I,like many, added more chile sauce after tasting to our liking. I used sweet chile sauce- not realizing there was regular and sweet- and it added a nice flavor. Let is simmer for quite awhile to get those flavors to come together. Very good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I've made this soup several times. It is easy to prepare and has a nice flavor with very little seasonings. My Thai friend likes it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yucaipa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Yum! Very easy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This was great. I wasn't sure how my kids would do with the ginger, but they ate it very well. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I was looking for a nice soup recipe, knowing that the upcoming weekend was going to be pretty chilly, when I came across this recipe and decided to give it a try. It was amazing!! I'm already making my second pot this week! Next time I get sick, or anytime I just want some good soup, I know what's going on the stove!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennilee Lloyd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I absolutely loved this recipe! Healthy and filling! I used one recommendation of no yolk egg noodles (I used the thin), added some sweet curry (from Penzey's), salt, garlic powder, brown sugar and a little bit of red pepper flakes. This was a perfect healthy soup. Thank you so much for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
We really like this recipe. The husband and son both had 2nd bowls. Used srichacha sauce for the chili sauce and it was perfect for it. Also used 2 packages ramen noodles (didn't use seasoning package) instead of egg as the recipe called for the noodles to cook only 5 minutes. An egg noodle would take longer, I think. Anyways they were perfect for it. Its chicken noodle soup with a twist! We'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This is a decent Southeast Asian cabbage soup recipe, except that it's missing one important element: FISH SAUCE! Add that, and you'll find the flavor you're missing in the original recipe. **Update: I've made this recipe a bunch of times now, and by far the best is with garlic chili sauce (in the jar with a green lid). Also, it's better without noodles - they get mushy in leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
AS A DIABETIC I LOOK FOR ANYTHING I CAN COOK AND EAT WITHOUT WORRYING. THIS IS AT THE TOP OF MY LIST, I DID ADD A FEW CLOVES OF GARLIC, AND USED REGULAR ONIONS. AND CHANGED THE EGG NOODLES TO WHOLE WHEAT NOODLES DUE TO THE DIEABITIES. BUT A STILL GREAT RECIPE. I WILL MAKE THIS OFTEN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONNYB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States