Thai Chicken Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
I think that this recipe could definitely use some spiceing up besides just the chili sauce I think if I make it again I will add some garlic, cilantro, Thai basil and since I used low sodium chicken broth some celery salt, possibly some coconut milk and lime juice. Now that would make a soup!! I have to say the aroma of the soup is great! But the taste could use some beefing up. Perhaps I will keep this recipe in my box and use it as a base to build on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I was so disappointed in this soup! I looked forward to it all day based on the rave reviews, and it turned out just terrible! I wish I understood where the raves are coming from... whether I did something wrong or not. I halved the recipe, and admittedly overcooked the noodles (I think the suggestion of cooking the noodles separately was a good one- wish I'd done it). But it seems like just a bland chicken noodle soup with cabbage in it, and the addition of the chili sauce just didn't "go". I love cabbage, I love chili sauce, and I LOVE THAI SOUPS!! This just didn't deliver. Bland bland bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
This was great. If you dont want a stew like consistency- then add more broth- but I liked it thicker. One leek was perfect for the taste- and I,like many, added more chile sauce after tasting to our liking. I used sweet chile sauce- not realizing there was regular and sweet- and it added a nice flavor. Let is simmer for quite awhile to get those flavors to come together. Very good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I've made this soup several times. It is easy to prepare and has a nice flavor with very little seasonings. My Thai friend likes it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yucaipa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Yum! Very easy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This was great. I wasn't sure how my kids would do with the ginger, but they ate it very well. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I was looking for a nice soup recipe, knowing that the upcoming weekend was going to be pretty chilly, when I came across this recipe and decided to give it a try. It was amazing!! I'm already making my second pot this week! Next time I get sick, or anytime I just want some good soup, I know what's going on the stove!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennilee Lloyd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I absolutely loved this recipe! Healthy and filling! I used one recommendation of no yolk egg noodles (I used the thin), added some sweet curry (from Penzey's), salt, garlic powder, brown sugar and a little bit of red pepper flakes. This was a perfect healthy soup. Thank you so much for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
We really like this recipe. The husband and son both had 2nd bowls. Used srichacha sauce for the chili sauce and it was perfect for it. Also used 2 packages ramen noodles (didn't use seasoning package) instead of egg as the recipe called for the noodles to cook only 5 minutes. An egg noodle would take longer, I think. Anyways they were perfect for it. Its chicken noodle soup with a twist! We'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This is a decent Southeast Asian cabbage soup recipe, except that it's missing one important element: FISH SAUCE! Add that, and you'll find the flavor you're missing in the original recipe. **Update: I've made this recipe a bunch of times now, and by far the best is with garlic chili sauce (in the jar with a green lid). Also, it's better without noodles - they get mushy in leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States