Thai Chicken Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Super delicious soup! I love how it is so simple and unprocessed! The only reason I did not put five stars is because I agree the noodles soak up most of the broth and a little bit of sugar added really plays on the spiciness. Either way, it was a wonderful recipe and I will be making this a lot in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdp001

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wanda Woemmel Rohlfing
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I made this last night and it was spectacular! My husband said it tasted like egg rolls. He then suggested that next time we make some fried wontons or buy some wonton chips at an Asian market. We also are planning to try shrimp and/or pork in place of the chicken sometime. Great recipe as is - no changes needed - a little plain though without the Thai Chile sauce - you must have it, or some other sauce, in order for it to taste as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda Woemmel Rohlfing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belle, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Good easy soup. I didn't have the Thai chili sauce, and I think it would have been even better if it had a little heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Followed suggestions of other posters and added garlic, cinnamon, ginger, celery salt, squash, +1 cup water. Had to use up some chix thighs so they added great flavor to the stock. Terrific soup but will add even more liquid next time to thin out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAD4CUISINE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Delicious! This is ultimate comfort food. Not exactly full of exotic flavors, but just tasty and simple. Really warmed us up on this cold, wet night. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
I think that this recipe could definitely use some spiceing up besides just the chili sauce I think if I make it again I will add some garlic, cilantro, Thai basil and since I used low sodium chicken broth some celery salt, possibly some coconut milk and lime juice. Now that would make a soup!! I have to say the aroma of the soup is great! But the taste could use some beefing up. Perhaps I will keep this recipe in my box and use it as a base to build on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I was so disappointed in this soup! I looked forward to it all day based on the rave reviews, and it turned out just terrible! I wish I understood where the raves are coming from... whether I did something wrong or not. I halved the recipe, and admittedly overcooked the noodles (I think the suggestion of cooking the noodles separately was a good one- wish I'd done it). But it seems like just a bland chicken noodle soup with cabbage in it, and the addition of the chili sauce just didn't "go". I love cabbage, I love chili sauce, and I LOVE THAI SOUPS!! This just didn't deliver. Bland bland bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
This was great. If you dont want a stew like consistency- then add more broth- but I liked it thicker. One leek was perfect for the taste- and I,like many, added more chile sauce after tasting to our liking. I used sweet chile sauce- not realizing there was regular and sweet- and it added a nice flavor. Let is simmer for quite awhile to get those flavors to come together. Very good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I've made this soup several times. It is easy to prepare and has a nice flavor with very little seasonings. My Thai friend likes it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yucaipa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Yum! Very easy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States