Thai Chicken Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I really liked it and so did my husband. It not only tastes good but it's good for you. I used Iron Chef Thai Sweet Chile Sauce in it. I wasn't sure if we would like it but it was even more delicious. Trader Joe's carries sliced frozen leeks that simplified it. Nancy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Needs a lot more flavor (as many others had mentioned). I used fish sauce, sesame oil, garlic, red chili paste & seasoned rice vinegar. Ramen noodles added at the end do not absorb the oil like many other had indicated occurred with the egg noodles. Topped with sliced snap peas & some cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Nice! Hmm! Chili sauce in a 'typical' chicken noodle soup. The chili sauce was a surprisingly nice touch as is. ��CROCKPOT FRIENDLY! This is a very versatile soup base, as discovered when comparing it to similar soups.�� Freeze some 'base' & serve 'typically' (dumplings, potatoes, rolled pasta). OR use a touch less broth or up the carrots and *maybe* cut the cabbage back or ?maybe? skip it altogether, & fully skip the meat & pasta, & puree! A great pureed, carrot soup, hot or cold! Make a double/triple batch, puree one part. Use on part for chunky soup: when time to serve, add a bit more broth IF needed, chicken, pasta (or rice, or maybe even rice noodles, or buckwheat soba, change it sometimes), & if you are like me, some spinach, cilantro, &/or sliced green onion for color, vitamins & flavor (peas, snow peas or anything green would work nicely). Other seasonings that go well with this as an oriental soup include: 2'sh Tbsp. of lime juice, soy sauce, &/or smooth peanut butter (natural works fine, especially for the pureed portion). Also, in smaller doses, a touch of sugar &/or sesame oil. For any pureed portion of the soup, some soy milk or dairy of choice will add a nice creamy touch. Deciding to add more of one seasoning to one half of the soup, & more of another seasoning to the other half of the soup, while adding pasta & meat to the one and adding dairy to the other helps us make one pot of soup into two rather distinct creations. Now, that's my idea of great cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Pick a thai sauce you like and a good quality chicken broth. I used less noodles than called for and we found that we had to add more Thai sauce to make it spicy. If we have it again, I'd use a garlic chili sauce. Not our favorite recipe, but decent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Family LOVED this! Def a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
This is a great soup that allows you to add any of your favorite spices. I've made it many times and usually add Fish Sauce, garlic, ginger, 5 spice, jalapeno, green onions and juice of 1 lime. Since I try to avoid gluten, I either don't add the egg noodles or use kelp or shirataki noodles instead. Bean sprouts, cilantro, and basil make great garnishes for this soup too. So healthy and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This just tastes like regular chicken soup to me, and I tripled the thai sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brooklynsurecooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topsfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This is so simple and so good. I've made it four times in the past couple of months. I sometimes use thinly sliced yellow onions instead of leeks, and I prefer Chinese cabbage to regular cabbage since it seems a bit milder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This is really good, but I added a few things to make it a little different. I added a teaspoon of sesame oil, a teaspoon of ground ginger, a teaspoon of minced garlic, a dash of garlic salt, and instead of egg noodles (I didn't have any) I used orzo pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
LOVE THIS! I made this soup without noodles so I could freeze individual servings of it...and it turned out PERFECTLY! I also substituted a bunch of green onions for the leeks and it's still awesome. Freezes and reheats really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States