Thai Chicken Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I really liked this recipe. It was quick and uncomplicated. i didn't have ground chicken so I used ground turkey instead. I doubled the recipe and made half with a little less cilantro for my children and half I spiced up for the adults with red pepper flakes. I used the Taste of Thai Sweet and Sour Chili Sauce to dip and baked them in the oven as some reviewers had suggested. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saramac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Spectacular! Thank you "Jensenly" for the great idea to make it into "torpedoes" and stick a skewer in it!! it looks fabulous! I served it along with a thin teriyaki dipping sauce, with minced cilantro and scallions in it! It made a beautiful presentation! I added onion powder, garlic powder, McCormick steak seasoning. I did not need to add an egg as some reviewers have posted. My torpedoes stayed together fine. I drizzled some teriyaki sauce on it before and after i baked it as well. I baked it at 400 for about 20 minutes. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Nothing to write home about. Needed a bit more zip. I did do the egg and that held it together. It just did not have enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlwaysCookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I made this for my lunch this week and they turned out really good. I added one egg as everyone suggested. I also fried them in olive oil for a few minutes and then popped them in the oven to finish cooking. Good recipe - thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
i've made these twice now because they're so tasty! i added some pre-minced ginger & pre-chopped garlic (out of a bottle -- i'm busy!) and cut back a bit on the sweet chili sauce (i don't want mine too sweet) and they're just perfect for me. i'm going to try baking them next time like others here have suggested to cut down on the calories. great to snack on while you're working or studying update: i just can't get enough of these! i even made them with the most budget-looking ground chicken i've ever used (it's all they had), and baked them for 22 minutes at 400 degrees, and they were delicious! i've never had a problem turning them into meatballs, so i don't see the need for an egg (and its extra cholesterol) -- just add or subtract the breadcrumbs based on how moist your ground chicken is. and for more 'zip' -- definitely add the minced garlic and ginger. if you bake these, it's a pretty healthy (and cheap -- great for students & seniors!) recipe. i've bookmarked it i love it so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I made these for Superbowl dinner yesterday, and they were soooooo good! I didn't have some of the seasonings so I used Bangkok Blend from Penzey's Spices and it was perfect! My super-picky family liked them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Burch

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This recipe is awesome!!! I made these "burger style" for my future in-laws and they loved them. My future sister in-law ate two of them, then came on the website to check out the recipe and hated me when she saw the calories... burger style, try topping these with the Thai Mango Sauce also found on this site. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
the whole family loves these! I halved the recipe to "try" them. My kids are half Thai and we eat alot of authentic Thai dishes so I wasn't sure if they would like these. Next time I will make a double batch because they are already gone! I added a clove of garlic and about 1/2 tsp. of ground Thai hot pepper(we like SPICY!). Served them as a snack/appetizer with more sweet chili sauce for dipping. yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by notlikeyourmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
These were tasty and delicious! I added some minced fresh ginger and garlic and one egg to help the meatballs stick better. Also, I used spicy Thai chili garlic sauce. These would be great with some sesame oil dipping sauce. Definitely worth making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I used ground chicken breast which was pretty sticky, so I added more breadcrumbs (panko). I also added freshed minced garlic and ginger, red chile flakes and some very hot Thai chile sauce (we like things spicy) I baked these in the oven at 400 for 20 minutes instead of frying, and we were very pleased with the results. I served them with Thai Vegetable Noodles from this sight. My cat stole a chicken ball and liked it a lot as well. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chicken Meatballs and Spaghetti

What's cooking in Chicago? Kim's healthy chicken meatballs and spaghetti.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States