Thai Chicken Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I don't know if I did something wrong (although it would be a bit difficult because this recipe is so simple), but these were horrible. If it weren't for the cilantro, these wouldn't have had any taste. I even used WAY less cilantro than recommended (probably half) and they had far, far too much in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
The flavour was good although the amount of bread crumbs made it too dry for me. They were also lacking in proper seasoning (salt). If you try this recipe, cut back on the bread crumbs and fry one Chicken Ball and test for seasoning. If you want more breadcrumbs then add the rest according to your preferences. It also lacked in a binding ingredient. Use an egg yolk. Avoid the white of the egg as it will become stringy since we are using Chicken as our ingredient. Frying was a good method however, I also tried baking them in a 350F oven for 15 minutes, shaping my Chicken Balls walnut sized and they were equally as good but less fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Neff

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Pretty good. Made the garbanzo stir fry recipe on this site as its side dish. I simply used chili sauce as a dip instead of adding the sweet chili sauce to the chicken mixture. I also browned the in oil in a sauce pan then baked them for 15 minutes in the oven at 375 degrees
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie&Peter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
The flavor was good, but something needed tweaking a bit. These would actually be great as a burger. Mine turned out a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
Awesome...I did follow the recipe and after frying 1 meatball to do a taste test I wanted more lemon. I added zest of 1 lemon, squeezed 1/2 the lemon and added 2 Tbls of soy sauce. This is a unique twist on meatballs if you wanted to serve them as an appetizer. A huge hit when I served this last week. Yum- great recipe, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikol

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Great, delicious. I used Turkey instead of chicken. I also grilled them instead of frying. I also doubled the Sweet Chili sauce amount. But the rest is the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
These were very tasty. I flattened them a bit so they cooked all the way through without getting dried out. We like cilantro, so I used more than the recipe called for. Serve with a few lime wedges-- delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Very delicious - made a few changes. I live in Thailand, so bought a standard herb/spice pack with the onion, ginger, limes (no real "lemons" here in Thailand, just imported - so limes give it more of a real Thai taste), chilies, and lemon grass. Followed the recipe as-is, but grated a bit of the Thai ginger in, added one crushed clove of garlic, and about 1/2 tsp salt. I let the mixture sit over night, with 2 stalks of lemon grass stuck in for the flavour. Pull out the lemon grass before making into meat balls. I also baked, as per other reviews. Delicious. My Thai friends loved them. Served with the left over sweet chili sauce to dip in, as cocktail meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RONNASTEFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
These were delicious! I did make a few changes based on reviews and personal preference. I added about 2 tsp light soy sauce, subbed dried onions for green onions, and subbed fresh chopped thai basil for the cilantro (about half the portion though). I also finely chopped some chicken breast instead of using packaged ground chicken to reduce the fat, and baked at 400 for 20 minutes as another viewer suggested. Wonderful, healthy and satisfying!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I found these to be pretty flavorless. I did not fry them in oil but baked them in the oven at 350 F for 25 minutes. I also used ground beef instead of chicken. They tasted ok, just nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chicken Meatballs and Spaghetti

What's cooking in Chicago? Kim's healthy chicken meatballs and spaghetti.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States