Thai Chicken Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
Very good appetizer. I made a few modifications, though. I couldn't find thai red chile sauce, so I subsituted a honey-teriyaki. I also added crushed red pepper to spice it up. Also, instead of balls, I formed an oblonged type shaped. Once cooked (in an 400 degree oven rather than frying), I inserted wooden skewers for easy handling. Try drizzling extra sauce over the skewers once plated and set a bowl of sauce on the side for dipping. A big hit at the New Years Eve party I attended this year. Thanks Vivian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jensenly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Made this recipe for a Girls Night Out and had at least 5 people ask for the recipe. Used ground turkey, added minced garlic and ginger, used panko bread crumbs and also an egg white so it would stay together...everything else just as the recipe states! DELICIOUS!! (I also browned them in a saute pan and then baked them on a cookie sheet for 15 min at 350 degrees so they would all be ready at once)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHNEVILLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
I like to buy ground chicken but don't have many ideas or recipes for it, so this was a great find -- I did make some modifications for my family and our taste.....I used Panko Bread crumbs, fresh basil instead of cilantro -but not a cup--added garlic, ginger, green curry paste, and dried lemon grass, I have a spice blend called Bangkok seasoning (bought at Penzey's spices)and spinkled that liberally in the mix. Made a glaze with pan drippings, soy sauce and more chili sauce -- WOW-- These turned out great! Thanks so much for a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mayorchooch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Very delicious - made a few changes. I live in Thailand, so bought a standard herb/spice pack with the onion, ginger, limes (no real "lemons" here in Thailand, just imported - so limes give it more of a real Thai taste), chilies, and lemon grass. Followed the recipe as-is, but grated a bit of the Thai ginger in, added one crushed clove of garlic, and about 1/2 tsp salt. I let the mixture sit over night, with 2 stalks of lemon grass stuck in for the flavour. Pull out the lemon grass before making into meat balls. I also baked, as per other reviews. Delicious. My Thai friends loved them. Served with the left over sweet chili sauce to dip in, as cocktail meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RONNASTEFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
I used 1.25 pounds of ground turkey, and subbed dried onions and dried cilantro. Instead of frying these, I baked them in the oven for about 25 minutes at 400 degrees. We ate it with brown rice that had the thai chili sauce mixed into it as well, along with some dried parsley and a few dashes of light soy sauce. Overall, this was delicious and would also make a good meatloaf with sweet and sour sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Spectacular! Thank you "Jensenly" for the great idea to make it into "torpedoes" and stick a skewer in it!! it looks fabulous! I served it along with a thin teriyaki dipping sauce, with minced cilantro and scallions in it! It made a beautiful presentation! I added onion powder, garlic powder, McCormick steak seasoning. I did not need to add an egg as some reviewers have posted. My torpedoes stayed together fine. I drizzled some teriyaki sauce on it before and after i baked it as well. I baked it at 400 for about 20 minutes. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
These were yummy. I shaped them like burgers, which worked very well. My little secret is to use the Sweet Chili Dipping Sauce from Trader Joe's for the chili sauce if you can... gives them an extra little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
This recipe was very good and offered a good spice blend with very exotic flavouring. I did find that 1 cup of cilantro was too much and used only half. I also added some salt and 2 fresh garlic clove. The meatballs did need some dipping sauce because I served them with rice so I followed the sweet chili dipping sauce from another thai recipe in the website (used only 1 TBSP of sugar). Overall this recipe was fantastic and would definetely do it again. My kids loved this recipe and asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
These have become a regular meal in our house. I usually make them just as the recipe states, and I often get compliments on them and requests for this recipe. For a healthier take, we bake at 400 degrees for about 20-25 minutes, flipping once in the middle of the bake time. We dip in sweet chili sauce or hotter chili garlic sauce. Our family loves them, including our 4.5 and 2.5 year olds. Great with Peanut Butter Noodles recipe from this site that we add julienned cuke and carrot too for extra veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
Awesome...I did follow the recipe and after frying 1 meatball to do a taste test I wanted more lemon. I added zest of 1 lemon, squeezed 1/2 the lemon and added 2 Tbls of soy sauce. This is a unique twist on meatballs if you wanted to serve them as an appetizer. A huge hit when I served this last week. Yum- great recipe, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikol

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chicken Meatballs and Spaghetti

What's cooking in Chicago? Kim's healthy chicken meatballs and spaghetti.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States