Thai Chicken Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
Very good appetizer. I made a few modifications, though. I couldn't find thai red chile sauce, so I subsituted a honey-teriyaki. I also added crushed red pepper to spice it up. Also, instead of balls, I formed an oblonged type shaped. Once cooked (in an 400 degree oven rather than frying), I inserted wooden skewers for easy handling. Try drizzling extra sauce over the skewers once plated and set a bowl of sauce on the side for dipping. A big hit at the New Years Eve party I attended this year. Thanks Vivian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jensenly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
These were yummy. I shaped them like burgers, which worked very well. My little secret is to use the Sweet Chili Dipping Sauce from Trader Joe's for the chili sauce if you can... gives them an extra little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
I used 1.25 pounds of ground turkey, and subbed dried onions and dried cilantro. Instead of frying these, I baked them in the oven for about 25 minutes at 400 degrees. We ate it with brown rice that had the thai chili sauce mixed into it as well, along with some dried parsley and a few dashes of light soy sauce. Overall, this was delicious and would also make a good meatloaf with sweet and sour sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
We weren't impressed. The texture wasn't very pleasant, the cilantro was too much even for us (and we LOVE cilantro), plus the balls needed some kind of sauce (I only had sweet and sour sauce on hand, and I didn't think it would go too well). Ah well...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
This recipe was very good and offered a good spice blend with very exotic flavouring. I did find that 1 cup of cilantro was too much and used only half. I also added some salt and 2 fresh garlic clove. The meatballs did need some dipping sauce because I served them with rice so I followed the sweet chili dipping sauce from another thai recipe in the website (used only 1 TBSP of sugar). Overall this recipe was fantastic and would definetely do it again. My kids loved this recipe and asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
these were really good. i ended up not being able to find ground chicken so i used ground pork. will do it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
Pretty good. Had a nice fresh taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
This recipe was a hit with my family. My husband used Plum sauce for dipping. The Chicken balls were mixed with rice noodles and veggies.. It was great and fast .. I thought it would have taken longer to prepare
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
After reading the reviews I made a few simple changes and we loved it. I used ground Turkey and about a qtr cup of cilantro. I will make this over and over. I served it with several different sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
Loved these! I put them with Thai Noodles and they were delicious. I didn't have sweet chili sauce so I used szechuan sauce mixed with a little plum sauce. I will make these again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chicken Meatballs and Spaghetti

What's cooking in Chicago? Kim's healthy chicken meatballs and spaghetti.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States