Thai Chicken Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
This recipe was excellent although I did make a few mods. I only had chicken breasts (not ground chicken) so I cooked them and put them in my food processor. I only used about 1/3 to 1/2 cup of the cilantro and it wasn't fresh. Instead of the sweet chili sauce I used Thai sauce and it gave it some kick and instead of 1/4 of a cup, I put in close to a 1/2 cup (and you could easily add more). I don't like spicy foods but this definitely gave it some good flavour and for those looking for some heat, just put more in. Overall, a great recipe, husband and I both rate it as a 10/10. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPORTSNUT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
The recipe is good. I don't like cilantro so I reduced the amount at least by half and I used dried cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
The basis for this recipe is really good, however it needs just a bit more kick for my liking. First, I'd add a bit of ginger and garlic and perhaps some chili paste (I'd like it a bit more spicy). Maybe some lemongrass too...I agree that it needs a sauce to go with it - I mixed some sweet chili sauce with some garlic, ginger, soy sauce and fish sauce. I substituted 1 1/2 cups breadcrumbs with rice since I can't eat wheat, which make the mixture unable to bind together in balls - so I made patties and baked them on parchment. I also used lime juice instead of the lemon. Overall, a pretty good recipe - after some tinkering, it will be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
I like to buy ground chicken but don't have many ideas or recipes for it, so this was a great find -- I did make some modifications for my family and our taste.....I used Panko Bread crumbs, fresh basil instead of cilantro -but not a cup--added garlic, ginger, green curry paste, and dried lemon grass, I have a spice blend called Bangkok seasoning (bought at Penzey's spices)and spinkled that liberally in the mix. Made a glaze with pan drippings, soy sauce and more chili sauce -- WOW-- These turned out great! Thanks so much for a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mayorchooch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
Yum! A quick, easy and different dinner dish. Served with white rice and a little soy sauce on the side. I did not find it flavorless at all. The cilnatro was fairly strong and my sweet chili sauce added heat. Adjustments: I used 2/3 lb. of gr. chicken, but kept the other measurements the same. Did not add gr. coriander but did add salt. For the last 5 minutes, I brushed a 1/2 sweet and sour/ 1/2 hoisin mixture on top. Also added great flavor. Also I baked these at 375 for 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
I really like the idea of this recipe with some added red chili flakes for the extra kick. On a whim, and the fact I ran out of rice, I wrapped the meatballs in thin cabbage (I suppose you can also use lettuce) leaves and dipped them in mild soy sauce, just to balance out the sweetness from the sweet chili sauce. It's a really nice appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
These are very tasty. I made 40 balls and baked them at 400 for 20 minutes. Used sweet red chili sauce for dipping. Also good dipped in Newman's Light Sesame Ginger dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
THESE ARE GREAT BUT DO NEED DIPPING SAUSE.ALSO GREAT FOR A HEARTY SOUP. I USED SOY SAUCE, MINCED FRESH GINGER & SOME SESAME SEED OIL COMBO FOR DIPPING.HAD SOME LEFT OVER & PUT THEM IN MY HOMEMADE CHICKIN SOUP, NOW THAT WAS AWESOME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gregoryz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Painesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
The meatballs came out ok. THe texture was not so great and they caould use some last and garlic in the mix. I turned them into a great texmex meal by warming them with salsa and serving them with rice and cheese which was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
These were pretty good, but needed a lot of sweet chili sauce to accompany. Mine also didn't stick together very well through the frying, so I think next time I'm going to add an egg to bind them, and replace the lemon with lime, which seems like a more authentically thai flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chicken Meatballs and Spaghetti

What's cooking in Chicago? Kim's healthy chicken meatballs and spaghetti.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States