Thai Cashew Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
This is really good and easy. I bought some of the ingredients at an Asian food store and received some great tips from a Thai employee. So be careful and inquisitive relative to the fish sauce that you use. Some are salty and some are not so salty. I used a not-so-salty version but still had too much salt for our family's taste. Next time I'll cut down on the soy sauce. All in all, a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
Good, except Waaaaaaaaaaaaaayyyyyyyyyyy too salty. I used low-sodium soy sauce, and the only fish sauce at the store. Followed directions exactly, except marinated it longer. Tasted like potential, if only it were less salty. All the same--- probably won't make it again, but it was eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Decent recipe, but I would increase the hot chili sauce (or specify brand/type) and make sure you buy the good fish sauce. Frying the cashews might also help a bit. Also, make sure you don't reduce the temperature of the oil & brown sugar mix, have the onions ready before mixing them. Otherwise you'll end up with caramel when it cools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hunter
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Yes, it is to salty, I would tell you to only use fish stalk with a TB or 2 of Rice Vinegar. Drop the soy. One TB of Sesame Oil and Brown Sugar is enough to create a glaze. You don't need the peanut butter. The trick to this is your green veggies, I would tell you to add nice green celery and green and red pepper to counter the other. Also, pound your chicken thin before marinating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This recipe is a stand-by dinner when I don't know what to make. It always comes out great. I don't like my food too salty, but did NOT find this recipe to be salty as others have said, could be the fish sauce used, which is important. Don't be afraid of the sound of it, you can't skip the fish sauce! I also like to use the amino soy substitute for the shoyu. My husband and I like spicy food, so we use at least the recommended amount of chili - preferably the garlic chili paste that comes in a jar with green lid. This is soooo good I'm making it again tonight (over some sticky Japanese rice!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonoko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
After living in rural Thailand for a 2 years I've never seen a dish like this, but it was still delicious. The thais I shared it with loved it too. I made it in a wok which gets really hot so I had to reduce the time on everything, but the chicken came out so soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This dish turned out great. I used a little less than half the marinade ingredients and used low sodium soy sauce, otherwise I am sure it would have been too salty (you can always add salt at the end, but you can never take it out). Also, the recipe calls for cooking the chicken for 10 minutes to brown it, but this really only takes 3-4 minutes. I cooked about 2 minutes added broccoli and red pepper and cooked 2 more minutes then followed the rest of the recipe as written. In my opinion, the fish sauce, peanut butter and sesame oil are very important flavours to the dish and I wouldn't suggest leaving them out and or replacing with other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I always try to stick as close to the recipe as possible the first time i make it...the first time i made this it indeed was waaaaaaaaaaay too salty. However, it enjoyed the flavor, so i gave it another try and the next time i made it i used only 1 tbsp fish sauce and 1 tbsp soy sauce and 1 tbsp rice vinegar. This resulted in a much more palatable marinade. I also changed the oil i cooked the chicken in to peanut oil and added a fresh hot pepper (serrano) and a red bell pepper to the mix. I served all of this over rice and some fresh bean sprouts and topped with fresh cilantro. I also toasted the cashews (just to deepen the taste and increase the aroma) and added some sesame seeds. I also squeezed a wedge of lime over the finished dish. Lots of additions that i felt kind of freshened/coloured it up, while still respecting the original recipe. This has become a regular dish in our home. Thank-you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pipsy D

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
This is a really good recipe. I didn't have a problem with the salt. I did add broccoli to it, and I am not sure I would have loved it without the broccoli. That is why I gave it 4 stars. Having just meat and rice would have been lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Brooklet, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
Great recipe. I love Thai food, so I am always on the lookout for dishes I can make at home. This recipe would work well with pork, beef and turkey too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cashew Chicken

Turn leftover chicken into delicious cashew chicken.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States