Thai Cashew Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This is excellent and worth the work. I didn't change anything, but I did add more vegetables. More cause I was craving green than anything else. Snow peas, bok choy and celery are nice additions. I did do the peanut butter sauce, but next time, if I add it, I'll only do 2 tbsp. I could really taste the pb. Tasting during cooking made me wish I'd skipped it altogether, the brown sugar/sesame oil made a fantastic glaze on its own. When you do the oil/sugar mix, make SURE you're only on med heat. Trust me, it makes quite the mess of your pan if you don't pay attention. Also, toast the cashews for a couple minutes first. But I will make this again. And it got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
This recipe was excellent, with some minor changes. I did omit the fish sauce and added 1/4 cup low sodium chicken broth instead. It was not too salty at all this way. Used 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper instead of hot pepper sauce. Also added bamboo shoots (undrained) and baby corns (drained) and cooked until the bamboo shoots were tender. I did not add the water to the sauce because it was already thin enough. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Has Potential!! This was fun to cook and I liked the flavors BUT I have to agree with previous opinions.....very salty (and I like salty) and a little flat. Have not tried it yet but I suspect this will bring it to life(previous reviews and experience)....low sodium Soy sauce,fresh lime juice and a sprinkling of Cilantro about the same time as the cashews. Jasmine rice rocks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
This was great! The only changes I made were to use low sodium soy sauce, use hot chili paste instead of hot pepper sauce, reduce to 3 chicken breasts and added the cashews along with some broccoli and baby corn in the last few minutes. I could only find lightly salted cashews and had only one choice of fish sauce, so I was worried it would be way too salty. However, my boyfriend (who totally avoids salt) didn’t think so. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I cook mostly Asian food, but I never tried Cashew Chicken. This was so good I was surprised. I added more sauce, and I thickened it with cornstarch. I've been to Thailand and Japan, and this was excellent and I will definitely make it again. I didn't add pb or lime, but I'll try it that way later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
My first attempt at cooking Thai food at home. It turned out amazing. I found that 1 tablespoon of oil was not nearly enough to dissolve 3 tablespoons of brown sugar so I added more. I also upped the peanut butter to make the sauce a little thicker. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
This was good and easy but, next time I will add cilantro (my own preference) at the end and double marinade. Family cleaned their plates and went back for 2nds. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terriyaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
This was delicious, and not too salty at all. I made a bunch of changes, however. First, I didn't marinate the chicken for 2 hours because I forgot. :) It only ended up marinating for about 10 minutes. Second, I omitted the peanut butter entirely to cut back on the sugar/fat content. Third, I used double the amount of cashews (UNSALTED) and toasted them under the broiler first. Then I threw them in with the chicken mixture and let them cook in the sauce for a few minutes. Fourth, I mixed a little cornstarch with water and added that to the mixture to thicken it. Fifth, I used about a tsp. of chili oil instead of hot pepper sauce. Finally, I served it over basmati rice instead of jasmine. I used regular soy sauce (not the low sodium kind) and had no problem with the salt content. Hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELSHARK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delaplane, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
WE LOVED IT! Changes I made: used Oyster sauce instead of fish sauce, brown rice instead of jasmine, put chicken broth instead of water in the sauce, diced the cashews and roasted them w/ cooking spray (1st time i made this i did it w/ whole cashews & i did not like them but they taste great diced). I also added broccoli with sauce. Also, I put some chicken broth in the marinade because I loved the sauce last time and wanted more the 2nd time I made it. Thank you so much for this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hasan'sCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
This recipe is good, just requires a lot of tweaking. When marinating the chicken, I replaced the fish sauce with low-sodium chicken stock, the fresh ginger with powdered and the hot pepper sauce with black pepper. Use low-sodium soy sauce, too (you can't tell the difference). Make sure you let the chicken marinate for 2 hours...makes all the difference. I replaced the jasmine rice with basmati (you need to let basmati soak in water for 20 mins.). I minced the onion and added one of those frozen veggie packs with carrots, mushrooms and sugar snap peas. I only had salted cashews, so I just rinsed them a few times in a bowl of water and mixed them in with the dish. I had no problems with the consistency of the sauce or the overall saltiness of the dish. Great recipe with the changes. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DChrissy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Rainier, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cashew Chicken

Turn leftover chicken into delicious cashew chicken.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States