Thai Cashew Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
used to tofu instead of chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Byron- Unger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I always try to stick as close to the recipe as possible the first time i make it...the first time i made this it indeed was waaaaaaaaaaay too salty. However, it enjoyed the flavor, so i gave it another try and the next time i made it i used only 1 tbsp fish sauce and 1 tbsp soy sauce and 1 tbsp rice vinegar. This resulted in a much more palatable marinade. I also changed the oil i cooked the chicken in to peanut oil and added a fresh hot pepper (serrano) and a red bell pepper to the mix. I served all of this over rice and some fresh bean sprouts and topped with fresh cilantro. I also toasted the cashews (just to deepen the taste and increase the aroma) and added some sesame seeds. I also squeezed a wedge of lime over the finished dish. Lots of additions that i felt kind of freshened/coloured it up, while still respecting the original recipe. This has become a regular dish in our home. Thank-you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pipsy D

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Way too salty! Also, the chicken comes out tough. Would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I used half the amount of reduced sodium soy sauce and it was still wayyyyyyyyyyyy too salty. I got the impression it could have been quite good without all the salt so I will probably try it again using very little soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
for the hot I used a bit of the "rooster sauce" Didn't have fish sauce-added some extra soy, also had to sub for "sesame oil" as i'm allergic. very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaJoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Far Rockaway, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
it is tasty though, if not authentic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Great meal. I have made this meal countless times and it's a common request when we are planning to entertain guests. Although I don't use the pepper sauce or fish sauce, this dish still comes out great. The best way to serve is over jasmine rice with a side of salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I liked it, as well as my husband, but I felt it was a bit too salty. I'll have to put less soy sauce. Other than that, I would make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blkenigma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Y U M M Y
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckers007

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I multipied this recipe by 3 for my cooking club and it turned out great (just cut back on the water added). Glad I used low sodium soy sauce and A Taste of Thai Garlic Chili Pepper Sauce worked great for flavor. Yum. We'll do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cashew Chicken

Turn leftover chicken into delicious cashew chicken.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States