Thai Beef Noodle Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
This is a very flexible ("forgiving") recipe, easily adjusted for personal tastes and ingredients on hand. We loved the combination of flavors in the dressing! It's a lot of pasta so I did add extra veggies and could have added more. I made the dressing using, as others suggested, fresh ginger, a little honey and less vinegar. Used carrots rather than zucchini; steamed broccoli and carrots a bit. Added roasted cashews and a little cilantro. For children or if taking to pot-luck, I would chop the veggies and use fusilli just to make everything more manageable. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
I used half the vinegar and still thought there was too much. To counteract this, I added 1 T. brown sugar and doubled the peanut butter. I made barbequed marinated flank steak (recipe on this site) to put in this, but wound up serving it by itself and this as a side. With these changes, it was a good accompaniment and I will serve this together again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Yum! So good! Thought the balance of vinegar to soy sauce, spice of cayenne, and savory peanut butter was just perfect! Garnished with chopped cilantro which was really nice. We'll be making this a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
We liked the balance of flavours in the dressing. Great way to use cold pasta and will make this one again Thank you Patricia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Penetanguishene, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Good recipe, but way too rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Easy to make and very tasty. Great to bring to a pot luck as it looks as good as it tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
this was SO GOOD. the only thing - is the 1/2C. rice wine vinegar HAS TO BE A TYPO. I read through the comments about too much vinegar, so I was careful to add it bit by bit .. I followed this recipe except for these minor tweaks.. I used only 1/4. C rice wine vinegar .. any more would've been too much.. I used olive oil instead of canola oil..fresh ginger..instead of orange juice I used orange marmalade.. (the only difference is it's a bit sweeter and has orange chunks in it)...omitted the salt as the soy sauce has enough saltiness in it .. and then for the veggies I used broccoli, snow peas, water chestnuts, minced red pepper and julienned carrots.. I used some thinly sliced top sirloin that I fried up in more sesame oil, and this would be really good with any kinds of nuts!! I used sesame, but toasted almonds, cashews, or some praline peanuts would all be really tasty! I used linguine, but next time I might try vermicelli or even sauteed Ramen noodles.. leftover chicken would work good for this recipe as well, and leftover roast pork.. also, for the sauce, make sure you ladle it on at the end and not just pour all of it on .. I had about 1/3 of the sauce left .. it pools at the bottom of the bowl so stir well before serving... other than that it tastes like something you would get at Edo!! (Japanese fast food place in Canada) fun recipe to play with .. I'll keep this one :)))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Right on!, Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
"This is delicious! Next time with chicken, beef and pork. Leftovers are even better!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Loved it. I followed the recipe, with these exceptions: I forgot to add the orange juice into the dressing; I didn't have any peas or zucchini so I left them out; used regular soy sauce (not the low-sodium kind). The flavor of the dressing is excellent. I found minced ginger in a squeeze tube in the supermarket produce section. This really does taste better the next day after the dressing has been left to soak into the noodles, beef & veggies. In particular, the broccoli got softer overnight which I preferred, texture-wise. It;s got just the right amount of garlic, not overpowering at all. I didn't think it was too much vinegar. Loved the sesame seeds as a garnish. This didn't taste exactly "Thai" to me but it's a wonderful combo of Asian flavors. It's easy and refreshing, a great summer dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
This recipe is a pretty good one. My husband really enjoyed it since it was full of fresh veggies. I made a few changes and cut the vinegar in 1/2 (took the advice of other reviews), added more honey to taste since I prefer a sweeter dressing, and doubled the orange juice (actually I used 1 tablespoon of pineapple orange juice concentrate and 2 tablespoons of water b/c I didn't have any OJ on hand). The dressing turned out perfectly. I thought that I should blanche the veggies but I tried it as written. Marinating the salad for a few hours "softened" the veggies but still maintained a nice fresh crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States