Texas Taco Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
This recpie was great! My husband I ate it for 3 days straight! The only changes I made were I used ground turkey breast instead of beef to make it lower in fat, I omited the peppers and used Rotel. We topped it with shredded cheddar and crushed up tortilla chips! It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
This is a great change from chili. I used left over shredded beef instead of ground beef. Ro-tel brand diced tomatoes w/green chili peppers and chili beans instead of pinto beans. Didn't have pinto beans on hand. This is so easy and everyone thought it was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This soup is really yummy and on the spicy side. I didn't realize that the Serranos would make it that hot. I also make 10 serving size pot of it so next time I will use 3-4 peppers instead of 6. Great flavor my family likes this recipe a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEWELS021064

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Such a versitile soup/base - can mix up the meat, type of beans and veggies, even seasonings a little to adjust to what's on-hand! We keep some in the freezer in individual serving sizes because it's so good, cheap, and easy! One of my all-time favorite soups! (We like it served with shredded cheese, a dollop of sour cream, and tortilla chips!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
the family LOVED this soup. The peppers give it a bit of a kick, but I think you could use a can of Rotel as well. Also, I used a can of chilli beans and a can of pintos. Next time I'll try black beans. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa Park, Texas, USA
Living In: Lindale, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
I made this in a half batch. It's good. Not as good as some other recipes, but tasty nonetheless. Definitely better with corn chips than by itself. I prefer the tortilla soup over this, and chili over this as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
Wow! This soup was really tasty. I substituted a can of Chipotle peppers for the Serano's and it was still a little too hot (and I am from Texas). If you don't like spicy food leave the chili's out, otherwise it is a great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFSHEETS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I enjoyed the ease of this; especially being able to cut it down in half. I kept out the water so it was stew-like and I could pass it off as "chili." We ate it poured over tortilla chips ( My spouse said Fritos would've been perfect. Nobody is raving about it, but everybody got seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JG Bird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
My family’s favorite cold weather meal! I use ground turkey rather than ground beef and top it off with a little cheese, tortilla chips, and sour cream! I love that we can eat it for 3 days straight and not get sick of it. One of the best finds on allrecipes.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This was fantastic! I did not do the peppers because of my kids - but instead I added a can of undrained rotel tomatoes and used chili beans instead of pinto as I had them onhand. I put tortilla chips and shredded cheese on the table to add if desired. Both my husband and I loved it, and one of the two children went back for seconds. Yummy! Perfect for a rainy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARRIEMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States