Texas Taco Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
This is a great change from chili. I used left over shredded beef instead of ground beef. Ro-tel brand diced tomatoes w/green chili peppers and chili beans instead of pinto beans. Didn't have pinto beans on hand. This is so easy and everyone thought it was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
Wow! This soup was really tasty. I substituted a can of Chipotle peppers for the Serano's and it was still a little too hot (and I am from Texas). If you don't like spicy food leave the chili's out, otherwise it is a great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFSHEETS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
I made this in a half batch. It's good. Not as good as some other recipes, but tasty nonetheless. Definitely better with corn chips than by itself. I prefer the tortilla soup over this, and chili over this as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This soup is really yummy and on the spicy side. I didn't realize that the Serranos would make it that hot. I also make 10 serving size pot of it so next time I will use 3-4 peppers instead of 6. Great flavor my family likes this recipe a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEWELS021064

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This recipe was very easy to make, and the soup turned out great. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
This recpie was great! My husband I ate it for 3 days straight! The only changes I made were I used ground turkey breast instead of beef to make it lower in fat, I omited the peppers and used Rotel. We topped it with shredded cheddar and crushed up tortilla chips! It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Very tasty soup. Nice on a cool day. I served it with mexican cornbread. MMmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seekaye5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This was very good but I used organic vegetable broth instead of water to pump up the vitamins for my 3 kiddos. We served it with tortilla chips and everyone ate, even the 2 year old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liztx8

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Very good. I didn't have the ranch so I left it out. It was good without, but I will try it with next time. I ate it with tortilla chips, and my fiance ate it with a grilled cheese. To each his own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PitBoss007

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
This is so good. I added everything but the peppers because I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabreana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbiana, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States