Texas Taco Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Such a versitile soup/base - can mix up the meat, type of beans and veggies, even seasonings a little to adjust to what's on-hand! We keep some in the freezer in individual serving sizes because it's so good, cheap, and easy! One of my all-time favorite soups! (We like it served with shredded cheese, a dollop of sour cream, and tortilla chips!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I enjoyed the ease of this; especially being able to cut it down in half. I kept out the water so it was stew-like and I could pass it off as "chili." We ate it poured over tortilla chips ( My spouse said Fritos would've been perfect. Nobody is raving about it, but everybody got seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JG Bird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
My family’s favorite cold weather meal! I use ground turkey rather than ground beef and top it off with a little cheese, tortilla chips, and sour cream! I love that we can eat it for 3 days straight and not get sick of it. One of the best finds on allrecipes.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This is a tasty soup but I did make some changes. I omitted the serrano peppers and used Rotel for the tomatoes (could have also added canned chiles). I used black beans and reduced the amount of extra water. I also had cilantro and lime on hand from another recipe and added some of each. Last, I added sour cream and shredded cheddar cheese when serving. I served with Tostitos Scoops. There are so many potential variations, but the important ingredients are the ranch dressing mix and taco (or chili) mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This was fantastic! I did not do the peppers because of my kids - but instead I added a can of undrained rotel tomatoes and used chili beans instead of pinto as I had them onhand. I put tortilla chips and shredded cheese on the table to add if desired. Both my husband and I loved it, and one of the two children went back for seconds. Yummy! Perfect for a rainy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARRIEMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
the family LOVED this soup. The peppers give it a bit of a kick, but I think you could use a can of Rotel as well. Also, I used a can of chilli beans and a can of pintos. Next time I'll try black beans. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa Park, Texas, USA
Living In: Lindale, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
This is so good. I added everything but the peppers because I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabreana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbiana, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Very good. I didn't have the ranch so I left it out. It was good without, but I will try it with next time. I ate it with tortilla chips, and my fiance ate it with a grilled cheese. To each his own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PitBoss007

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This was very good but I used organic vegetable broth instead of water to pump up the vitamins for my 3 kiddos. We served it with tortilla chips and everyone ate, even the 2 year old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liztx8

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Very tasty soup. Nice on a cool day. I served it with mexican cornbread. MMmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seekaye5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States