Texas Style Chicken Tequila Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Daniel
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Update to my previous review! Ok, I've done this dish now four times and it has to be in my top 3 chicken dishes I've prepared so far from this great website. It's sooooo tasty! To make things more interesting, I doubled the amount of tequila! Other than that, I followed the recipe as instructed and it turned out absolutely great. As a side-dish, I cooked the Mexican sour cream rice and it's a great combination...along with savory deviled eggs! An absolute winner of a combination and dish! Kudos to Brenda, the author of this great chicken recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casselman, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Whew! Can I say YUM!!!!! Served this dish over rice, it is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paoli, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Justin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I love this recipe! My husband and I have been making this for over a year and it is our favorite. It is delicious over rice or pasta. Unless you love heavy cream, I would recommend using about 2/3 the recipe amounts. For tequila lovers, use up to two times the recipe amounts for stock and tequila. It is also much quicker to put the chicken in one skillet and the veggies in another so you can cook them at the same time. A pinch of cayenne also makes a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Even my picky son likes this one. It took me 30 minutes to thicken the sauce, but it turned out great. Served with Mexican rice and corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorkville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Windermere, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Delicious! But I had to make a few of my own changes to get there. I left out the oil and used much less cream (extra chicken stock for liquid). I used yellow bell pepper instead of red & green, and seasoned with extra lime, sea salt, and cilantro and a small bit of honey at the end. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
We make this all the time! Grill the chicken- it is really good this way. We like to add a whole onion-it is not too intense, just adds more veggies. you can add whatever color peppers suit your fancy. Penne pasta is our favorite to pair w/ this. ENJOY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Great dish. I used green bell pepper, and white onion. Instead of using heavy cream I doubled the chicken broth. I also added green chile and used corn starch to thicken once the flavors cooked in. This one is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
This was soo good! I made a few substitutions though, I used tequila sunrise (a gift I will never drink) and I left out the cheese mostly because I forgot. Served over rice. It was such a nice light meal and I'm sure the orange changed it alot but this will be made many many times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
This was really good - I just made it with rice and am completely stuffed. I used a shredded mexican blend instead of romano and doubled the tequila paste. I have to admit, while this was rich and delicious, the tequila paste I didn't taste much - next time I might I make some modifications. Delicious start though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
I used bourbon instead of tequila because I didn't have any. I served it over mashed taties and it was good. It needed some more flavor though, I'm not sure what. I would double the jalapenos though; I couldn't even taste them. I will make it again but try some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Tequila Lime Chicken

See a tasty homemade take on a famous tequila-lime chicken dish.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States