Texas-Style Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2015
I will never make another baked bean recipe or buy store made ones again. This was delicious. I made a couple changes based on reviews. I bought 3 28oz cans of pork and beans. I only used 2 full cans and maybe about 8oz out of the 3rd (I couldn't find smaller cans). I drained one can completely. Then I used sweet Italian ground sausage (I had it in my freezer from accidentally buying it thinking it was links and not looking, doh!). Used 2 cans of chopped green chiles (I drained them a little) and sautéed the onion. I omitted the garlic powder because I just didn't have it, and I used franks red hot sauce instead of tobasco. I also use sweet baby rays bbq sauce. These came out so good. It wasn't runny at all either. Definitely will be keeping this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
These beans are amazing. Always my go to recipe and they get rave reviews from everyone that tries them. Based on other suggestions I use a tube of hot breakfast sausage instead of the ground beef (best success with Tennessee Pride) and Sticky Fingers Carolina Sweet BBQ sauce. I do not ever add the hot pepper sauce because I don't want them too hot. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
This recipe is very good. The only reason for me not giving the 5 stars is that I think is a little too sweet for my taste. I also had unfortunately to replace the green peppers for sweet peppers as I can not eat spicy things. Same for the Tabasco sauce. As for anything else this recipe was very very good. I paired it with the Bacon Wrapped Smokies from this website as appetizer and Peach pie with Sour Cream dessert from this website too. Very good combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Fail for using canned beans. I was hoping for a homemade recipe that did not have all the in it that canned baked beans have in them....especially the sodium. And here I am looking at a recipe that is based on those beans. Might as well save yourself some time and buy the ones in the store.......no benefit here except customization.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luke Rumfelt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
Loved them…as suggested I used Jimmy Dean hot sausage instead of ground beef. I also used a variety of beans…black, pinto, navy and red kidney instead of pork n beans. Other than those alterations..followed the recipe. Thank you! Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzyReed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I didn't have green chiles but added green pepper. The beans in my cupboard weren't the ones with pork, so I added a bit of bacon fat to the ground beef as it was frying. I ended up making the BEST baked beans I've ever had! Thank you for the recipe....although I had to tweak it a bit to suit what I had in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Zeta Blue Chick
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Easy and delicious. I always cook the day before and the refrigerate over night. let all that goodness marinate, then heat up. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zeta Blue Chick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I love this recipe as do all of my coworkers that I have made it for. The only changes I've made are adding more meat in the form of uncased Italian sausage and small chunks of bacon from a few diced up slices, aside from that I mix one spicy and one regular bbq sauce and they come out great. The flavor is great and these beans are top notch!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Best bean iv had in years . To spicy for me but i will fix that next go round. ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States