Texas-Style Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
I LOVED these beans! They were a big hit at a cookout we had, as they have a nice mix of spicy and sweet. As a conoissuer of spicy food, I couldn't get enough. I followed the recipe to a tee, but per other user recommendation, used Jimmy Dean sausage instead of the ground beef. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2005
I make this recipe all the time now. It's so easy and it is always a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMcGavin
Living In: Candor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
We loved this recipe. I made it for a picnic and everyone loved them. Very easy to put together. Will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spring Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
Excellent! I used Frank's Hot Sauce. Tabasco might be a little too warm with that quantity. The aroma when I opened the slow cooker got everyones attention.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
These are the BEST baked beans we have ever tested. The sausage made a big difference - wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
I have made this a few times for groups of friend. And it was a big hit each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2004
I have made these numerous times and each time I do, I love them more. Instead of putting in just hamburger, I brown a pound of Jimmy Dean Smokehouse sausage. Makes it marvelous! Also, I drain a couple of cans of those beans, otherwise they are really soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
I tool these beans to a potluck last week, and I had so many complements on them!!! I will be using this recipe instead of my usual because it's so much easier then making them from scratch and the taste just as good if not bette!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
YUMMY!! These beans were excellent they had some kick but not to much-this is a "keeper recipe" for my family-Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocaholic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Wow, were these good!! Used 1 lb. sausage as I was suggested in the reviews and a 1/2 can of green chilis per guests tastes. I was very concerned they would be to spicey for a particular guests, but he loved them. I too have never been a big baked bean fan, but I'm now converted!! The recipe was easy to follow and the taste is supreme!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nickyp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moline, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jefferson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States