Texas-Style Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2004
I have made these numerous times and each time I do, I love them more. Instead of putting in just hamburger, I brown a pound of Jimmy Dean Smokehouse sausage. Makes it marvelous! Also, I drain a couple of cans of those beans, otherwise they are really soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
Extremely excellent! Very hot/spicy and wonderful flavor. I used Louisianna hot sauce instead of Tabasco and baked mine in the oven instead of crock pot. I don't like crock pots much, everything comes out wet and floating in liquid. I put them in a big baking pan and baked them at 350º for about an hour. It worked great. I prefer baked beans to be thick, not swimming in juice. I used two 32 ounce cans of Van Camps regular pork and beans and drained the excess juice off the top of the cans. I used pork sausage instead of hamburger and it was so good. I cooked the onions with the sausage when I browned it. Fantastic baked beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mallard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Emmetsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
I LOVED these beans! They were a big hit at a cookout we had, as they have a nice mix of spicy and sweet. As a conoissuer of spicy food, I couldn't get enough. I followed the recipe to a tee, but per other user recommendation, used Jimmy Dean sausage instead of the ground beef. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2004
These are good. After reading the reviews I whisk 2 tablespoons of cornstarch with some bean juice because I wanted a semi-thick juice. Also I added another can or green chili’s, and since my barbeque sauce was already sweet, I only added about a tablespoon of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This is absolutely the best recipe for baked beans I have ever tried. I take them to an annual pig roast on Canada Day every year and almost everyone wants the recipe. I prefer with with no meat added and the lack of meat does not change the flavour one bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
These are the BEST baked beans we have ever tested. The sausage made a big difference - wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I have looked for a great recipe for baked beans for 30 years...this is it folks!!! I will NEVER use a different recipe again. Like others, I substituted Hot Jimmy Dean sausage for the hamburger meat and left out the Tobasco altogether (as I was taking it to a church pot-luck where there were lots of kids). I have never had so many requests for a recipe before. This is incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
I liked this recipe but thought it was a little watery. I will drain two of the cans of beans first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Boy these were delicious! I only used 1/2 lb. of sage sausage because I wanted the meat to be in the "background" in this dish. I also sauteed the onions in the sausage pan before I added them to the crock pot. I will make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAYHEYPAULA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reynoldsburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Colleyville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Not too hot, not too sweet. I only used 1/2 the bbq called for as I didn't want the bbq sauce to overpower the beans. I also used 2 tbl of sriracha instead of the hot sauce. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States