Texas-Style Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2004
I have made these numerous times and each time I do, I love them more. Instead of putting in just hamburger, I brown a pound of Jimmy Dean Smokehouse sausage. Makes it marvelous! Also, I drain a couple of cans of those beans, otherwise they are really soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
I liked this recipe but thought it was a little watery. I will drain two of the cans of beans first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2004
These are good. After reading the reviews I whisk 2 tablespoons of cornstarch with some bean juice because I wanted a semi-thick juice. Also I added another can or green chili’s, and since my barbeque sauce was already sweet, I only added about a tablespoon of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
These were good - I love that you can make them in the crockpot! Will make again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
Not bad! Used a honey/smoke BBQ sauce (already in the pantry)and I think I should have decreased the brown sugar to compensate. A little sweeter than I'd like, but I DID like the slight smokey flavor. Maybe regular BBQ sauce, keep the sugar and add some liquid smoke? I'll try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2005
I make this recipe all the time now. It's so easy and it is always a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMcGavin
Living In: Candor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
I LOVED these beans! They were a big hit at a cookout we had, as they have a nice mix of spicy and sweet. As a conoissuer of spicy food, I couldn't get enough. I followed the recipe to a tee, but per other user recommendation, used Jimmy Dean sausage instead of the ground beef. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
Excellent! I used Frank's Hot Sauce. Tabasco might be a little too warm with that quantity. The aroma when I opened the slow cooker got everyones attention.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
I have made this a few times for groups of friend. And it was a big hit each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
I tool these beans to a potluck last week, and I had so many complements on them!!! I will be using this recipe instead of my usual because it's so much easier then making them from scratch and the taste just as good if not bette!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States