Texas-Style Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
The best, heartiest beans ever! Great flavor, my family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovejam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cassadaga, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I threw this recipe together quickly without any meat, except some bacon bits and it turned out fabulous. My husband and brother in-law loved it with their burgers. They are starting to think that after 15 years of marriage I can actually cook! Great easy slow cooker recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Use Sausage Next Time. Maybe More And/Or Different Beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lina Hershberger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Boy these were delicious! I only used 1/2 lb. of sage sausage because I wanted the meat to be in the "background" in this dish. I also sauteed the onions in the sausage pan before I added them to the crock pot. I will make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAYHEYPAULA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reynoldsburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Colleyville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Great for BBQ's. It was a hit at ours! I did use sweet italian sausage, & 6 cloves of garlic. Keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Made this today instead of the plain ole beans and it was delicious and a huge hit! After reading the reviews I used sweet italian sausage instead of the hamburger and it was great. I'm not usually a bean eater but, I really enjoyed these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I have looked for a great recipe for baked beans for 30 years...this is it folks!!! I will NEVER use a different recipe again. Like others, I substituted Hot Jimmy Dean sausage for the hamburger meat and left out the Tobasco altogether (as I was taking it to a church pot-luck where there were lots of kids). I have never had so many requests for a recipe before. This is incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I made this yesterday for a work pot-luck and it got rave reviews! I used hot and spicy BBQ sauce and only 2T of Tabasco, plus the sausage that others had recommended. I also drained the liquid off the top of the cans of beans and the consistency was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Doubled the recipe as is without any substitutions; they were a BIG hit for my nephews graduation party. I gave him a couple of recipes to selection from and he chose this one and wasn't disappointed. I'm sure next get together I'll get a request to bring the beans. FYI - doubled this filled to the top a 7 quart slow cooker. I borrowed by neighbors Hamilton Beach 6-Quart Stay or Go Slow Cooker which has a lockdown lid to prevent spills and built in handles for carrying. I've put one on my Christmas list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Wow for complete, robust, full flavor. These were awesome! Instead of using the canned beans, I cooked up some dry beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States