Texas-Style Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
An excellent and delicious supper! I didn't have chile peppers, so I used sliced jalapenos in a jar, and half a pound each of ground beef and Jimmy Dean sausage. It was just spicy enough for us- I served Baked Hot Dog Sandwiches, also on this site, with the beans - a meat-lover's supper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I made this recipe to go along with brisket and pulled pork sandwiches for my brother's 40th bday party. It was a huge hit! I didn't put in any meat, and added a tsp. or two of cumin, which added a really nice flavour. When choosing your BBQ sauce, try to get one with a smokiness to it...SO good! I also used one jalapeno instead of green chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLORY7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Really good! I doubled the recipe and followed the advice of other reviewers - I did 1/2 ground beef and 1/2 jimmy dean original breakfast sausage (couldn't find the recommended brand); sauteed the onions; used Frank's instead of tabasco; baked in a single dish in a 350 oven for 2 hours the day. Served the next day - nuked in the crockpot insert and served in the crockpot. I am not a great baked beans fan, but these drew rave reviews from my hungry 4th of july crowd. Thanks Scrubbie1 for the richly-flavored beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
I agree with the others, replace the ground beef with sausage. Also, trade 2 of the cans of pork and beans with great northen or pinto beans (really any kind you like). They're colorful and not so soupy this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Family loved this dish and really love it after I made a few modifications. As Paula Dean says make the dish as directed first and then make it your own. The modifications I made: I used 1 pound medium spicy sauage, and Bush's Texas Ranchero Grillin Beans. I also drained two cans of beans, my family prefers a thicker sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Wow! These are great. I didn't change a thing. Everyone in our family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
tastes great! I only added half the chiles (too spicy for my toddler) and used 3 cans of beans though because 4 cans is enough to feed a small army.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Very flavorful! Made beans without meat and they were still outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
My family loves these beans. It's a great side dish but my family loves it as a meal with some cornbread. Instead of ground beef, I used Jimmy Dean Hot sausage. I also halved the brown sugar. I used a can of rotel and did not use the pepper sauce. This is definitely a great winter weather dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
These were a little on the spicy side and a little less sweet than I like, but my husband loved them. Per other suggestions, I used pork sausage rather than ground beef for additional flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanineBailey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States