Texas-Style Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Very flavorful! Made beans without meat and they were still outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
My family loves these beans. It's a great side dish but my family loves it as a meal with some cornbread. Instead of ground beef, I used Jimmy Dean Hot sausage. I also halved the brown sugar. I used a can of rotel and did not use the pepper sauce. This is definitely a great winter weather dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
These were a little on the spicy side and a little less sweet than I like, but my husband loved them. Per other suggestions, I used pork sausage rather than ground beef for additional flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanineBailey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I have made this several times now and it is always a huge hit. Instead of ground beef I use about a 1/2 pound Jalapeno flavored sausage that I brown first in the skillet and about a 1/2 pound of bacon that I also precook just a little bit. I usually will just use a yellow onion because that is what I usually have on had. I found the key to this recipe is the BBQ sauce - you must use a good sauce, the beans depend on it, my husband and I really like Sweet Baby Rays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyndsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
The best, heartiest beans ever! Great flavor, my family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovejam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cassadaga, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I threw this recipe together quickly without any meat, except some bacon bits and it turned out fabulous. My husband and brother in-law loved it with their burgers. They are starting to think that after 15 years of marriage I can actually cook! Great easy slow cooker recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Use Sausage Next Time. Maybe More And/Or Different Beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Boy these were delicious! I only used 1/2 lb. of sage sausage because I wanted the meat to be in the "background" in this dish. I also sauteed the onions in the sausage pan before I added them to the crock pot. I will make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAYHEYPAULA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reynoldsburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Colleyville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Great for BBQ's. It was a hit at ours! I did use sweet italian sausage, & 6 cloves of garlic. Keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Made this today instead of the plain ole beans and it was delicious and a huge hit! After reading the reviews I used sweet italian sausage instead of the hamburger and it was great. I'm not usually a bean eater but, I really enjoyed these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SherryW411

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States