Texas-Style Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I'm giving this 4 stars because the flavor was good, but just wanted to warn others that it is very spicy! I only used 1 Tbsp of Tabasco because 3 sounded like a lot, and it was still a little too much. Husband liked it, but kept saying "wow, spicy!" and 8 yr old daughter couldn't eat it. My sons ate it, but next time, I would try maybe 1 or 1.5 teaspoons of Tabasco and let people add more as they like. So thumbs up for the basic recipe, but use caution with the Tabasco unless you're a flame-eater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Used Bush's Grillin' Beans and made exactly as written except for using only 1 Tbls of Tabasco. Excellent. Use a good quality bbq sauce, it makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Not too hot, not too sweet. I only used 1/2 the bbq called for as I didn't want the bbq sauce to overpower the beans. I also used 2 tbl of sriracha instead of the hot sauce. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
An excellent and delicious supper! I didn't have chile peppers, so I used sliced jalapenos in a jar, and half a pound each of ground beef and Jimmy Dean sausage. It was just spicy enough for us- I served Baked Hot Dog Sandwiches, also on this site, with the beans - a meat-lover's supper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I made this recipe to go along with brisket and pulled pork sandwiches for my brother's 40th bday party. It was a huge hit! I didn't put in any meat, and added a tsp. or two of cumin, which added a really nice flavour. When choosing your BBQ sauce, try to get one with a smokiness to it...SO good! I also used one jalapeno instead of green chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLORY7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Really good! I doubled the recipe and followed the advice of other reviewers - I did 1/2 ground beef and 1/2 jimmy dean original breakfast sausage (couldn't find the recommended brand); sauteed the onions; used Frank's instead of tabasco; baked in a single dish in a 350 oven for 2 hours the day. Served the next day - nuked in the crockpot insert and served in the crockpot. I am not a great baked beans fan, but these drew rave reviews from my hungry 4th of july crowd. Thanks Scrubbie1 for the richly-flavored beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
I agree with the others, replace the ground beef with sausage. Also, trade 2 of the cans of pork and beans with great northen or pinto beans (really any kind you like). They're colorful and not so soupy this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Family loved this dish and really love it after I made a few modifications. As Paula Dean says make the dish as directed first and then make it your own. The modifications I made: I used 1 pound medium spicy sauage, and Bush's Texas Ranchero Grillin Beans. I also drained two cans of beans, my family prefers a thicker sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Wow! These are great. I didn't change a thing. Everyone in our family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
tastes great! I only added half the chiles (too spicy for my toddler) and used 3 cans of beans though because 4 cans is enough to feed a small army.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States