Texas-Style Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I have made these a couple times now and everywhere I take them they are a huge hit!! The only thing different I use is Jone's hot sausage (in the tube) and also add a chopped fresh jalepeno. Fry in a skillet with the onions. Everything else I left as recipe stated. Oh I do recommend draining 1-2 cans of beans otherwise it is too soupy. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I'm giving this 4 stars because the flavor was good, but just wanted to warn others that it is very spicy! I only used 1 Tbsp of Tabasco because 3 sounded like a lot, and it was still a little too much. Husband liked it, but kept saying "wow, spicy!" and 8 yr old daughter couldn't eat it. My sons ate it, but next time, I would try maybe 1 or 1.5 teaspoons of Tabasco and let people add more as they like. So thumbs up for the basic recipe, but use caution with the Tabasco unless you're a flame-eater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Used Bush's Grillin' Beans and made exactly as written except for using only 1 Tbls of Tabasco. Excellent. Use a good quality bbq sauce, it makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Not too hot, not too sweet. I only used 1/2 the bbq called for as I didn't want the bbq sauce to overpower the beans. I also used 2 tbl of sriracha instead of the hot sauce. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
An excellent and delicious supper! I didn't have chile peppers, so I used sliced jalapenos in a jar, and half a pound each of ground beef and Jimmy Dean sausage. It was just spicy enough for us- I served Baked Hot Dog Sandwiches, also on this site, with the beans - a meat-lover's supper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I made this recipe to go along with brisket and pulled pork sandwiches for my brother's 40th bday party. It was a huge hit! I didn't put in any meat, and added a tsp. or two of cumin, which added a really nice flavour. When choosing your BBQ sauce, try to get one with a smokiness to it...SO good! I also used one jalapeno instead of green chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLORY7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Really good! I doubled the recipe and followed the advice of other reviewers - I did 1/2 ground beef and 1/2 jimmy dean original breakfast sausage (couldn't find the recommended brand); sauteed the onions; used Frank's instead of tabasco; baked in a single dish in a 350 oven for 2 hours the day. Served the next day - nuked in the crockpot insert and served in the crockpot. I am not a great baked beans fan, but these drew rave reviews from my hungry 4th of july crowd. Thanks Scrubbie1 for the richly-flavored beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
I agree with the others, replace the ground beef with sausage. Also, trade 2 of the cans of pork and beans with great northen or pinto beans (really any kind you like). They're colorful and not so soupy this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Family loved this dish and really love it after I made a few modifications. As Paula Dean says make the dish as directed first and then make it your own. The modifications I made: I used 1 pound medium spicy sauage, and Bush's Texas Ranchero Grillin Beans. I also drained two cans of beans, my family prefers a thicker sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Wow! These are great. I didn't change a thing. Everyone in our family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States