Texas-Style Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I use one can each of baked bean, black beans, pinto beans, and lima beans. This is great, and brings a "chuckwagon" taste to mind. Definitely go "low and slow" if time permits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Perfect baked beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
These are best baked beans I have ever eaten and so very easy to prepare. They received rave reviews from my guests. I used my homemade Italian sausage instead of hamburger. So great because I didn't have to turn on the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvstocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I recently made these beans to go with ribs. Like other reviewers I substituted sausage for the ground beef. I used 3 cans of heinz brown beans (drained the liquid from 2 of the cans) and a can of mixed bean medley. I think next time I would use two cans of each. I used Franks Red Hot sauce. I also added very little of the brown sugar because I don't think the recipe needed it. Rave reviews from our company - my friend asked for the recipe and she said she doesn't usually like beans. The beans had good flavour and texture and just the right amount of heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I've made this several times and love it! I don't bother with the crock pot, just whip it up on the stove. Remember to drain the beans because the BBQ sauce gives it the liquid, and I also skip the brown sugar. Just put a "spicy" note by it at a picnic and kids are then warned, but the men seem to go for it - you will have no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I did this in a slow cooker to be part of our Fish Fry Party Menu we had for a friend. Was a big hit and the leftovers the next day went over baked potatoes with some shredded cheddar & sour cream for supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Very spicy! I would suggest cooking your chopped onions before adding them to the slow-cooker, lightly draining 2-3 cans of the pork and beans, and increasing the amount of ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Yummy! But..cain't be Texan with Boston-style baked beans. We cook our own pinto beans, but if you must used the canned stuff, please get pinto beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PastorJim

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Flippin, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Delicious, and I don't even like beans. I did use sausage instead of ground beef and served it at a cookout. The guests LOVED it. I didn't even have any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I have made these a couple times now and everywhere I take them they are a huge hit!! The only thing different I use is Jone's hot sausage (in the tube) and also add a chopped fresh jalepeno. Fry in a skillet with the onions. Everything else I left as recipe stated. Oh I do recommend draining 1-2 cans of beans otherwise it is too soupy. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States