Texas-Style Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I have been making this recipe for several years now and think it is the best baked beans recipe out there. I did follow some of the suggestions made by others and have used sausage instead of beef, double the amount of green chili and have used fresh roasted when available, and do drain at least one can of beans to prevent it from being too soupy. I am a big fan of the Bush's Grillin Beans and have also used those a couple of times, which led to a slightly more intense flavor. These are always a hit at family gatherings...all I can say is Yum, Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Just made this recipe today! Absolutely delicious but did make a few changes. First thing to mention...I almost doubled the recipe and used half the tobacco & it still has kick! Beware, 3 tablespoons could light you up if you're not a spice person! I wanted to make a large crockpot full, so used 6 cans of beans, drained off top juices in 2-3 of them. Wanted more meat, so cooked 1 pound of jimmy dean regular sausage, 1 pound of 90% lean hamburger, and cooked 2 chopped onions in with meat. Put 2 cans of green chiles in. added extra 1/2 tblsp of chili powder & garlic powder. I did not double the bbq sauce, I only added maybe 1-2 extra tablespoons, and no extra brown sugar. Lastly added maybe 1 tablespoon of worschesthire. If you really like your beans sweet, go for the extra sugar, but I don't. I thought they were plenty sweet. I love that the bbq flavor doesn't dominate this dish, have been looking for a baked bean dish that isn't your typical ketchup brown sugar mustard dish, wanted something less sweet, more meat. LOVE IT! I'm sure it will be a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Tried this recipe for our 4th of July cookout. They are the bomb! I followed the recipe too, except I did drain off the liquid from the beans and cooked them in the oven for an hour. If you like tasty and hot, these are the best. Will be using this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I wish I could give this more than 5 stars. I made it for a Father's Day BBQ yesterday and it was a HIT. Everyone loved them My husband and I were a bit skeptical but this recipe is amazing. I did use the sausage instead of the ground beef and I used two big cans of the Van De Kamp beans with pork. They did not have a lot of juice so the beans weren't soupy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Tried the recipe as written and really liked it. The next time I made the beans I substituted some hickory smoked brisket for the ground beef. It was so good, that I have made it several more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
I added veal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This was a great recipe and I was a hero with the kids. I used our homemade bar b q sauce instead of the store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MERRIWE2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I'm not a big fan of baked beans, but this receipe was more like a chili beans/baked beans so I think it came out pretty good. My family loved them and requested for me to bring them to the next gathering. So I guess its a winner! I bought bush's original baked beans and omitted the brown sugar since they were already sweet and it avoided that gross oversweetness I can't stand! I think next time I will try the sausage version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Awesome! Everyone loved these and commented on them how great they were. They were the only item on my menu that I did NOT have any left over. :) Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brambleberries

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
this is a great recipe, but it was a bit sweet, maybe a little less barbecue sauce would make it perfect?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States