Texas-Style Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
These were a HUGE hit at my cookout!!!! Everyone loved them and was wondering how I made them. DELICIOUS!!!! I didn't make them spicy though so I omitted the tobacco/hot sauce & peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Very very good. I found this at the last minute so I had to make some subtitutions to complete it. I only had 2 cans of pork and beans so I used those undrained and 2 cans of dark red kidney beans drained and rinsed. I also used a pound of chorizo because I needed to get it out of the freezer. I let everything cook in the slow cooker for the day. Super good and super easy. Will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Made exactly as written...(don't believe in reviewing recipes that are changed from the original!!). We absolutely loved them and will never make any other recipe again. Only thing I will do next time is cook my own beans!! Thanks scrubbie1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mission, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I've made this bean recipe. And I love hot spicy stuff. But if you really want to bring out the flavor of a "chile". You need to roast them. Get some Poblano chiles, wash 'em and roast them over an open gas flame (not inside the house). They aren't very hot but will add an incredible flavor to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Crowd pleaser! I have made a modified version of this recipe three times to take to cook outs. Each time, there are no leftovers at all and multiple compliments. The changes: My version uses mild country sausage instead of hamburger. Instead of a whole cup of BBQ sauce, I used 3/4 cup of Sweet Baby Rays sauce. That was all I had in the fridge the first time I made this recipe. Then I added 1/4 cup of ketchup to make up the difference. I substituted Texas Pete hot sauce. (It's a local favorite, similar to Frank's and not nearly as hot as Tobasco sauce.) And I drained most of the juice from the cans of beans. Also, instead of using the crock pot, I cooked these in a large foil pan in the oven with some bacon pieces cut up on top. 350 for about an hour. This recipe is a keeper. The chilies, the spices, and BBQ sauce really set these baked beans apart from any other I've had. Not too sweet either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I like to put a variety of beans in (White, Pinto, etc.). May mix in a little bacon, pork, or whatever else I have laying around. Alway a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hugo, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I made this for work, I have been told this was great, 3 people request the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, Texas, USA
Living In: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Made these for a charity event and they were wonderful. I did leave out the green chiles and hot sauce. Got several compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
perfect! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States