Texas Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
A great blending of ingredients. I've been on a coleslaw kick lately, having tried a number of new coleslaw recipes. This recipe is not the best I've had, but it's very good. It's still coleslaw, but with a fun and adventuresome Tex-Mex twist. It was a bit dry upon first mix, but after adding a dab of extra ranch dressing and after it sat for awhile, it became plenty "wet." So, I may not have needed to add more ranch dressing after all. The kick is about right for me. Please note: The cilantro flavor is prominent, nearly dominating the taste. Like my wife, if you aren't a fan of cilantro--reduce it or leave it out. I'm not a big fan of cilantro, but in this salad--it just works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
My family really enjoyed this recipe. We added purple onion because we believe the holy trinity of southwest cooking is jalapenos, cilantro and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murphy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2003
This slaw was the easiest,most tasty coleslaw I've ever had.I fix it with Burgers, Shrimp, and BBQ.I Would recommend this dish to Martha Stewart!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
This was really great--I'd give it five stars, but I think my adjustments made it a five, not the recipe. I used frozen corn, fresh chopped green pepper and onion instead of the canned corn and added about a 1/4 cup of salsa to the sauce. It was all so crunchy and spicy. By husband couldn't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Martin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
This is absolutely the BEST!!! My husband NEVER liked any slaw, but he LOVES this one. Everybody asked for the recipe at the BBQ. I made it with NO-FAT Ranch, and LOW-FAT Cheese, added 2 tbl.spoons of NO-FAT sour cream and 1 tbl.spoon of SPLENDA. AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
This was really different and good. I also added some onion to the recipe. It definitely is better after sitting 24 hours, liked much better than eating right away. Nice change of pace from regular coleslaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philip, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
My husband and I cant stand coleslaw but I had to try this cuz I liked the ingredients and it came out great!! I cant wait to take this to my next gathering! Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
This is pretty darn good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Playa Del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
This was really good, and different. I'm not a big cole slaw fan but this is not like cole slaw. My boyfriend wasn't as crazy about it though. I made barbecue beef to go with it and he was to busy eating that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
This recipe was pretty good, but no out of this world - I would decrease the dressing by 1/4 cup (I used Maries lite ranch and it was too creamy for my taste). I only had one jalapeno available, and I think that it definitely could benefit with the suggested amount of two jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States