Texas Sheet Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
unbelievably good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Simply fantastic. Easy and perfect. I did use canned frosting (gasp!) on the very warm cake for times sake. I thought the canned frosting would ruin the cake (it was for a large group of young adults) but it was very good. This is a cake I will use for the future- for a sheet cake I can't imagine there is a better recipe to be found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Very easy and yummy. I split the butter with shortening in both the cake and the icing and it was very good. I wasnt paying attention and I added the butter/shortening and eggs to the flour mixture...oops...so I heated only the cocoa with the water but added about 3 tablespoons shortening to the heated mixture so it would be similar to the recipe. So I goofed up but it still came out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as directed and everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Made this for a family cook out, they came out great :) everybody loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
This is the easiest, most delicious chocolate cake recipe ever. I love that you could even make this with just a hand whisk, if that's all you've got. I made it in 2 8x8 pans, which made it the thickness of a regular sheet cake (Texas sheet cake is supposed to be a lot shorter) and baked it a little longer. I also toasted some chopped pecans and sprinkled them densely over the frosting I'd just poured on top, and pressed them in a bit so they stuck. I am horrified to admit that over a few days, I ate the entire cake by myself. It was THAT good. Will definitely be making this again very soon, and will insist that my husband help me finish it this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
This was one of the blandest, most flavorless chocolate cakes I have ever tasted. Luckily I sampled. the batter and could tell that it needed much more cocoa. I ended up doubling the cocoa in both the cake and frosting, and it still only had a mild hint of chocolate flavor. I should note that I used quality cocoa, so it wasn't due to poor quality ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I make this in a 9x13 pan and bake for 26 minutes or so. Super delicious and very moist cake. I only use 3 cups of sugar in the frosting to cut the sweetness a bit. This is a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HUSHPUPPY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I made this in a shallow 9x13, and I needed a deeper pan. I think it would be fine in a regular 9x13. My jelly roll pan was too big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ceewhycee
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I didn't change a thing and this is SOOOOOO good and easy to make! I made this to take to work and everyone said it was really good. I may never use another chocolate cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 403) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States