Texas Sheet Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
The best of the texas sheet cakes so far. Good cake, but the frosting is still a tad too sweet and lays too thin over the cake. But so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
A very moist cake that went together quickly. The secret is to frost immediately as it comes from the oven. I have a family of chocoholics, so I doubled the dark cocoa powder in both cake and frosting and cut the sugar in both by 1/2 cup. Delicious! Couldn't keep my hubby out of it. Oh yeah, make sure your jellyroll pan is 13X18.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This is a very old recipe of mine....A true crowd pleaser with on-hand ingredients, quickly throws together and not much effort. You will always get requests for more with this one! The only change I make is I use all butter in the batter rather than the shortening (don't like to use shortening at all). You won't be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Absolutly perfect sheet cake. I made this for a family party and another person also made a sheet cake, this one was gone and there was more than half of the other left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alden, New York, USA
Living In: Williamsville, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This is an old favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Yummy; Will fix again and I like it that it is quick and easy. Hubby would not stay out of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green River, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
These were easy and good. I would probably add a little more chocolate in batter, maybe chocolate syrup, to make more chocolate flavorful. Otherwise, they are good, not too sweet. I used tip, about putting frosting on while just out of oven, pulling the rack out a little bit, and it worked perfectly. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
This was fantastic!!! I tasted it when it was still very warm and I thought it was a little bland, but after it cooled, I LOVED it! My whole family LOVED it! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I made this cake last month for a potluck we had at our church to honor our pastor. I never made Texas Sheet Cake before and our pastor loves coffee and chocolate so I thought this would be a good thing to take. When it was time to clean up I happened to see one lady putting four pieces on a plate to take home. Everyone loved it and said I could bring it again. Tomorrow I am making it again for my son's birthday party. What a great tasting cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I made this cake for my husband's birthday. I must say, I was a little disappointed. I followed the recipe exactly as stated. The cocoa powder may have been too old. My husband loves chocolate, and it just did not have a rich chocolate taste. I most likely will not try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States