Texas Sheet Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
Yummy! I love the frosting. My 3 year old loves sprinkles so we had to try it without the nuts so the sprinkles would "look the prettiest". Turned out wonderfully. With some of the reviews stating that it was brownish, I thought it would have more of a brownie texture but it was as cakey as they come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatarat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paragonah, Utah, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
I whipped up this cake in a panic on Christmas Eve when I found out no one was bringing dessert. I made it in a 15x11 inch jelly roll pan and it turned out great! Everyone loved the rich chocolate and it was very moist, a bit like a cakey brownie. I left out the cinnamon (personal choice). As others have stated, the batter is thin, but it works! Thanks Bron=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
When I mixed up the batter, I was concerned because it appeared to be extremely thin. I had a friend who tried making a Texas Sheet Cake and complained that the center never cooked. So, when I saw that the batter was thin on this recipe, I decided to add about 1/2 cup additional flour to the recipe. The cake came out nice and moist. I had made it for my friend as a birthday surprise. She loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
wow! This is a great cake and the frosting is yummy!!! Very moist and easy to do. Thank you for sharing...I will be making this one again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2002
Very good but very rich--a little vanilla ice cream helps offset the richness. Like a really fudgy, frosted brownie. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2002
I couldn't believe how easy this recipe was! I made it for a family get together, and it was a huge success. This cake was wonderfully moist, and delightfully chocolatey! My nine year old even asked me to save a piece to put in his lunchbox the next day. Not surprisingly, when I asked the crowd if anyone wanted to take home some leftovers, everyone requested cake. The only problem was, there was nothing left of it but a few crumbs in the bottom of the pan! I have a feeling that I am now the official "dessert bringer" for all family get togethers, and that this recipe will be used again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
My husband loves Texas sheet cake, so I decided to make this recipe. His whole family LOVED it!! Thanks for a great recipe! This will be my standard from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2001
This cake has become the favorite birthday cake at my office. It is so easy to make, and my friends and family love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bishopville, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2000
My family has loved this cake for 30 years. There are many variations but this seems to be the best proportions. A chocolate fantasy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2000
Excellent..so very rich, but oh so very good!! It goes great with ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States