Texas Sheet Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
I have made this cake twice. The first time, I baked for specified time and it didn't get done but that is probably my oven. I increased the baking time and it was wonderful the second time. Very good and very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Lusignan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richardson, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
Had this at work and went back for seconds... and thirds! Sooo goood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOCHOCOBO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
Makes a nice cake. Based on my experience making the recipe, I would suggest the following changes: 1) Increase the chocolate by a 1/2 oz 2) Add an extra 1/2 cup flour 3) Omit cinnamon 4) Replace some water with prepared coffee 5) decrease amount of frosting by 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newburyport, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
Words cannot describe this cake. I took the previous advice...cut cinnamon in half; added 1/2 c more flour. For extra special treat I used good Italian chocolate with 75% butterfat! This will be in my permanent repetoire. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
I was really suprised that the cake and frosting did not taste "super sweet" instead it has a really smooth chocolate taste. I will definately make this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2004
Yum on this one. I've been looking for a good Texas Sheet Cake recipe and this one is awesome. The only thing I did is cut the cinnamon down to 1/2 tsp. This is a good one!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lara Rowlett Zuccaro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
I made this cake for our 4th of July family get-together. It is the best chocolate cake I have ever made or eaten!! I read the reviews about the cinnamon being overpowering so I omitted it. I also read about the batter being too thin so I changed the water amount to 3/4 cup instead of a whole cup. The recipe called for a 9x13 pan but I was looking for a true sheet cake to feed a crowd so I made it in a 15x10 sheet pan--it's also better for the delicious icing because it would have been too thick on a 9x13 cake. The only thing I would do different next time is maybe add another chocolate square to the cake mix--it was just a little short of being chocolatey enough for me. I will be making this forever! It will replace all my chocolate cake recipes in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2004
Very good. I actually made the cake using this exact recipe in one of my church cookbooks, except it uses 1/4 cup cocoa instead of the squares. Also, there was a misprint in my recipe and the baking soda was omitted.(I should have thought of that). So, I had brownies instead of a cake. But it was still very good with ice cream. So if you are looking for a moist brownie recipe, just use this and omit the soda! I love how the icing hardens a little. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
WAYYYYYY too much cinnamon in this recipe. I'd probably drop it out completely if and when I make this again. Otherwise, it's a nice moist cake, with good frosting, but the overwhelming cinnamon flavor blew it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
Delicious cake! So tasty, and it lasted for days. I'll definately make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by So Cal Gal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States