Texas Sheet Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Yummy!! However, I did omit the cinnamon, and used buttermilk for the frosting recipe as well. Very good, and oh so sinful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joanne
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
This recipe was awesome! I have been in search of this recipe and was I glad that I chose to make Bron's recipe!!! Moist and yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Wonderful cake. I took a previous poster's advice and increased the amount of flour. I personally like cinnamon and did not find it overwhelming even with the full amount. The baking time, however, was not enough for my oven so be sure to check yours before removing it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
Chocolate-holics look out!! This was known as "Pat's Pootin'Gopher Cake" in So.west Texas many years ago. IT is the BE ALL to all chocolate cake lovers recipe. I was so surprised to find it again, She was my mother n law and passed away leaving this wonderful recipe. Thank you...Ellie in KY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I was disappointed in this cake. I followed the recipe as written, and it came out dry and bland. Thanks for sharing, but my family just didn't care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
I have made this recipe for over 25 years! And always get raves from everyone who has it. This recipe is the same as the one I have. You don't need to be from Texas to love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
This recipe is very good. I took the advice of previous reviews and increased the flour by 1/2 cup and decreased the cinnamon by 1/2 teaspoon. However, I kept the chocolate at 2oz. and the fudge quality of the icing made up for the mild chocolate with the hint of cinnamon flavor of the cake. Will make again with no more alterations than I already made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMAPUGLUVR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenova, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Jackson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
After reading about this southern favorite online I looked up a recipe. I chose this one because of the rating and I had the ingredients on hand. It was quick and easy to make, however, after tasting the batter, I was really hoping for a chocolately brownie type cake which isn't quite what it turned out to be. Those who commented on it at our church potluck today though said that it was great...how bad can chocolate cake with chocolate frosting really be??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
This cake was awesome! I followed others advice and added 1/2 cup of flour, 1/2 square of unsweetened chocolate and decreased the cinnamon to 1/2 teaspoon. I have to tell you though, I loved the slight hint of cinnamon in the finished product. I think next time I'll try the whole teaspoon. Also, living in So Cal, I think I could have just used the regular amount of flour. It wasn't dry, just not quite as moist as I thought it would be. Think it's our dry air. Anyway, I agree with extra chocolate - it was perfect! And the icing was SO nice and fudgy! I could have eaten it by the spoonful! Gave this recipe 5 stars because the minor "flaws" were my own doing - this is a GREAT recipe. Will definitely make this cake again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
YUM! I was dying for something sinful but I didn;t have much on-hand. I used semi-sweet instead of unsweetened chocolate. I used all butter, no shortening, and I used milk with vinegar in it for the buttermilk. I followed everyones advice and added 1/2 Cup more flour, and omitted the cinnamon. Even with all of these subsitutions it is moist, rich, and really good! one of the best from-scratch cakes I've ever made (not dry at all!) Thanks for a truly no-fail recipe! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MLALAK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Berea, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States