Texas Sheet Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
O.K. I admit, I'm from Texas and grew up with this cake at all our birthday parties. However, even with minor modifications-depending on where I was cooking-this is an easy, fail-safe cake. My favorite version includes the 1t of Cinnamon (I had someone tell me it reminded them of their grandmother's coke-cola cake), I substitute oil for shortening and use 4+T of very good cocoa instead of the chocolate squares. Depending on my whim I add toasted pecans or substitue 1/2C coffee for 1/2C water. My icing recipe is different than this one and I never make a full icing recipe. (I always leave it in the pan-so it would be too much!) Even the original family cookbook I use for this recipe lists many modifications. I love a basic recipe, like this, that is so easy to change yet always tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I chose this recipe because I too am a native Texan living in Pennsylvania! I made the cake for a school function and although I didn't get to try any myself I was told by those who did it was outstanding. I did follow another reviewer's advice about using half fresh brewed coffee and half water instead of the full cup of water. I am making this again for another school function next week and hopefully this time I will actually get to try some before it's all gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Canyon Lake, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
I really wanted to like this recipe... I added the 1/2C flour and about a 1/4 extra buttermilk, and one extra square of chocolate. The cake was moist, I give it that, but the flavor did not excite me... sort of blah... I mixed the frosting as listed,it was to runny, and to sugary/sweet for me. and even the chocolate in the frosting didn't really come through in taste... But I am a very picky flavor nut... so, its just another OK recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This was a delicious recipe! This was my first time making Texas sheet cake. It was for my husband's birthday and he said it was delicious. I also brought the extras to a get together and they loved it as well! I used the other comment's suggestion on adding lemon juice to milk instead of buttermilk and it worked very well. This is a great recipe and I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I have been baking Texas Sheet Cake for over 40 years. However, my recipe calls for 2 sticks of butter/or oleo and 4 generous Tbsp. of cocoa. We like the cinnamon. Also, I use buttermilk in the icing and mine goes on hot cake and is thin but once it sets, it is almost candy-like. Yum-O
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Texas, USA
Living In: Overton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
my grandmother made a very similar cake and she's from Oklahoms, go figure..great cake...i use Dutch process cocoa, not baking chocolate (use the conversion chart on the back of the tin of cocoa) and toast your pecans for extra flavor. who has buttermilk on hand? 1 tablespoon white vinegar or 1 tablespoon lemon juice added to 1 cup milk (let sit for 10-20 minutes) does just as well. great childhood memory cake and everyone raves about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
I was a little disappointed in this cake. Was hoping for a chocolatey, melt-in-your-mouth kind of cake, but this was not it for me. The cake portion was a little bland and the frosting was too sugary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
This is one of the best and easiest 'from scratch' cakes I've ever made. It's definitely a No Fail recipe made exactly as is. Believe it or not, it tastes even better the next day (If there's any leftover!) I usually skip the nuts in the frosting because I prefer it plain. Also, if you don't have buttermilk on hand, you can make your own by mixing 1 Tbsp white vinegar or Lemon juice with 1 cup of milk. Let it sit until it clots (about 5 to 10 minutes) and add according to recipe instructions. One last thing is the frosting usually cooks a little strange. As I'm cooking it on the stove about the time it's supposed to get bubbly around the edges, it seems to 'separate'. However, once I beat in the powdered sugar with my mixer, everything is fine. The first time I made it, I threw it out because I thought it was ruined when it seperated, but when I made my second batch and it happened again I decided to just beat it with the powdered sugar to see what happened and it turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Vandenberg Afb, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
Awesome - made exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States