Texas Sheet Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
I've made many chocolate cakes and this is a good one but not my personal favorite. A little too dense and flour tasting but lots of chocolate flavor though! When you flour the pan add a sprinkle of cocoa powder too. It looks better than the white bottom which can occur with flour and has the same non stick results as the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
So good for a picnic! Try adding 1/2 tsp. cinnamon to the batter for a special little something, folks will wonder what that different taste is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
I made this for a July 4th party - it was a really easy recipe to make and went over well! Three people in particular just kept going back over and over again for more cake - I think they ate over 1/2 of the cake just themselve! It's a great combination of brownie/cake and easy "finger food". I'm giving it 4 stars b/c it was a bit on the sweet side, but still quite good. Maybe I'll sprinkle some nuts on top of the icing next time to try and cut the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2003
I made this recipe for a large 4th of July gathering and it was a big hit. Everyone loved it! It moist and flavorful. It seems to be a cross between cake and brownie. Yum! It is also very easy to whip together. I will definately be making this again. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMMOM3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
We had a dessert buffet at church. This cake went like lightening! Had lots of compliments about its being rich, moist, tender and chocolatey. What more could you want? Thanks Diane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
Excellent flavor, I really like this cake. The icing is great, I added 1 cup walnuts and 1 tsp vanilla in it. I also used one extra Tbsp of cocoa powder in the cake. Next time I'll add a little salt and cinnamon as some of the other recipes include.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
Very tasty & moist cake - old fashioned flavor that is very satisfying. The "frosting", in my opinion, is more of a cocoa icing and was very sweet - even for my sweet tooth! Not at all creamy or fluffy, but compliments the cake well. (I was hoping for the same fudgey consistency as some other posts mentioned but my icing was thin and ran all over. I followed the recipe to the tee but wonder if I should have let it boil for a bit longer.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollister, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
This sheet cake is excellent, especially for pot-lucks, and BBQ's. My family loves it and is simple and inexpensive to make. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2002
How did the perfect chocolate cake get such an unchocolatey name? I couldn't pour the frosting, it was like fudge ... no complaints here! I've been looking for ages for a cake with great taste, texture, cut-ability and here it is, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
UPDATE: I changed the 1/2 cup shortening for 1/2 cup vegetable oil. Much better now. This is my hubby's favorite cake. He is from Nebraska and they call it a "Tommy Cake". I couldn't find his Mom's "Tommy Cake" recipe, so I looked until, I found one very similar to her's. He said it was just like the one he remembered as a child. We served it at a Christmas dinner this year and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Russell Specht

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Addison, Texas, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States